Thread: 12.10 + CCC13.1 + Two Radeon Cards = Bad Day

Beans

12.10 + CCC13.1 + Two Radeon Cards = Bad Day

Oph, here we go -_-

So, this week started with me 'upgrading' to Windows 8
    It took about two days for me to realize that it was complete crap, and gave me a sick pit in my stomach whenever I tried to use the clunky interface and totally jacked default 'apps'.

So, I'm a college student, I only really use Windows to run Linux VMs anyway, why keep wasting money? It's time to make the jump and use LINUX to run my Linux VMs

Today I downloaded 12.10 (x64) from the Ubuntu website, shutdown Windows 8 for the last time, and installed over the entire hdd.

Went well, came out smiling, but only one of my two screens was recognized. I kinda expected this, because I have two Radeon cards in my computer, one 6950 (which only has support for one VGA screen off of DVI) and one 5500 (to run my other VGA screen).

So, I go to CCCHTML.com and follow the directions for the Quantal Install (that's what 12.10 is, right?)

Once catalyst 13.1 (fgirx) was installed, my second screen remained blank until I ran:
    Code:
    sudo amdconfig --initial -f --adapter=all
    At which point it turned grey (after restart).

(here I installed the awesome WM, because I wanna play around until I find a WM that I like for a dual screen desktop, sorry Unity)

Then I had the bright idea to turn on xinerama in CCC, and poof! I had a second screen!
    Kinda. Unity's now broken, and once I log in, none of the task bars display, and I can't do anything but ctrl-alt-del to log out or ctrl-alt-t to open a terminal.

Eventually I lucked upon the amdconfig line to turn off xinerama from bash, and am now back at one (kinda glitchy) screen and one grey screen.

I suppose I did something obviously dumb, like install a new AMD driver (almost always stupid, idk why AMD releases them) or whatnot. Drivers in Linux is totally new to me, to my chagrin (think VMs) and I'm at a loss...