Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can't boot liveusb in UEFI mode

Beans

Can't boot liveusb in UEFI mode

I have spent the last three days on this.

I am not new to installing ubuntu or windows. I am new to installing ubuntu on a 64 bit architecture that has uefi and secure boot.

I have created the liveusb 64 bit ubuntu amd for my asus k55n.

In uefi mode the uefi grub menu appears but when I choose try ubuntu without installing I get one of two scenarios.

If secure boot is enabled I get a "binary is whitelisted" text and nothing else.

If secure boot is disabled I get a blank screen.

In the past three days I have tried everything within my searching power and results to no success.

nomodeset, nosplash, verbose text, text, gfxmode set explicitly

It just will not boot into uefi mode. I can't install to dual boot alongside windows 8 because it always says files are missing from the boot section.

Since I can't boot ubuntu from the liveusb in uefi mode alone I can't use boot-repair to fix it.

I am at a loss. At this point I'm starting to give up. If I can I would like to just dump win8 (I bought this laptop new to replace my now 7 year old laptop) and put ubuntu solely on the drive with my partitioning but even that is scary to think for now because I have to make an esp partition.

For now my main problem is that ubuntu amd 64 will not boot in uefi mode from liveusb.

Thanks for any help.

BTW, I forgot my old account info for this forum so I had to make a new one again. Is there a way to retrieve login info?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Re: Can't boot liveusb in UEFI mode

If you want you can post in Forum Feedback & help. I am surprised an Admin has not yet complained to you for duplicate accounts. You will not be able to merge and must know original email (do not post it).
    http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=48

Some Asus that worked.
    ASUS K55A Windows 8 & Ubuntu Some Asus need this boot parameter pci=nomsi