Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Thread: Chrome - "Couldn't load plug-in"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Beans
    583
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Chrome - "Couldn't load plug-in"

    Works in Firefox though, so it's not hardware. Chrome version is 24.0.1312.57. Ubuntu 12.04 LTS

    Flash version: 11.5.31.138


    Other details from about:plugins

    Adobe Flash Player (2 files) - Version: 11.5.31.138
    Shockwave Flash 11.5 r31
    Name: Shockwave Flash
    Description: Shockwave Flash 11.5 r31
    Version: 11.5.31.138
    Location: /home/user/.config/google-chrome/PepperFlash/11.5.31.138/libpepflashplayer.so
    Type: PPAPI (out-of-process)
    Disable
    MIME types:
    MIME type Description File extensions
    application/x-shockwave-flash Shockwave Flash
    .swf
    application/futuresplash Shockwave Flash
    .spl
    Name: Shockwave Flash
    Version: 11.2 r202
    Location: /usr/lib/flashplugin-installer/libflashplayer.so
    Type: NPAPI
    Disable
    MIME types:
    MIME type Description File extensions
    application/x-shockwave-flash Shockwave Flash
    .swf
    application/futuresplash FutureSplash Player
    .spl
    Disable Always allowed
    libpepflashplayer (10 files)
    Name:
    Version:
    Location: /opt/google/chrome/PepperFlash/libpepflashplayer.so
    Type: NPAPI
    Disable
    Last edited by 98cwitr; February 2nd, 2013 at 06:12 AM.
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS / E6750 @ 3.52GHz / Zalman 9500 / GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L / Mushkin Silver/Blackline 4GB DDR2800 / MSI 8600GT GPU / OCZ 120GB SSD / Antec P180B
    Ubuntu User 31267

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ringsted, Denmark
    Beans
    51
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Chrome - "Couldn't load plug-in"

    This is happening to me too, though flash is working in Rekonq.

    edit: I can't remember using flash recently, so I would assume it was the update I installed wednesday that broke it.
    Last edited by MarcoDePollo; February 2nd, 2013 at 06:42 AM. Reason: update

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    3

    Re: Chrome - "Couldn't load plug-in"

    Same problem for me too. It's working fine in firefox, It's not working in chrome.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Beans
    583
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Chrome - "Couldn't load plug-in"

    glad im not the only one
    Ubuntu 14.04 LTS / E6750 @ 3.52GHz / Zalman 9500 / GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L / Mushkin Silver/Blackline 4GB DDR2800 / MSI 8600GT GPU / OCZ 120GB SSD / Antec P180B
    Ubuntu User 31267

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Beans
    3

    Re: Chrome - "Couldn't load plug-in"

    ***SOLVED***

    goto chrome://plugins/
    click on details (top right)
    disable adobe flash player

    Name: Shockwave Flash
    Version: 11.5.31.138

    then restart the browser.

    hope this'll work.

  6. #6

    Re: Chrome - "Couldn't load plug-in"


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Mystletainn Kick!
    Beans
    4,338
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Chrome - "Couldn't load plug-in"

    Quote Originally Posted by garnedi View Post
    ***SOLVED***

    goto chrome://plugins/
    click on details (top right)
    disable adobe flash player

    Name: Shockwave Flash
    Version: 11.5.31.138

    then restart the browser.

    hope this'll work.
    No need to restart, just reload the page.
    Splat Double Splat Triple Splat
    Earn Your Keep
    Don't mind me, I'm only passing through.
    Once in a blue moon, I'm actually helpful
    .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bombay
    Beans
    5,861
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Chrome - "Couldn't load plug-in"

    Quote Originally Posted by download descendent View Post
    +1.
    de gustibus et coloribus non est disputandum -- Wiktionary

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    1

    Re: Chrome - "Couldn't load plug-in"

    This is an issue with Flash 11.5.31.138. Since 11.5.31.137 worked fine (and for me much better than 11.2.xx.xxx), and since 11.5.31.137 is probably still on your computer (under /opt/...), a better work-around is detailed at:

    http://code.google.com/p/chromium/is...tail?id=173790

    Look at Message #31. Instead of deleting the ~/.config/google-chrome/PepperFlash directory, I just renamed it to PepperFlash2.

    After restarting Chrome, under chrome://plugins you'll then see that Chrome is using Flash 11.5.31.137 -- and all is back to what it was before Google pushed out the update (and this is nothing anyone did, no regular updates -- it's a "push update" done by Google).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    103

    Re: Chrome - "Couldn't load plug-in"

    Just delete (or rename if you're paranoid/cautious) ~/.config/google-grome/PepperFlash/

    Restart chrome.

    Problem fixed.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •