Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu? Xubuntu? Zubuntu? Huh?

Ubuntu? Xubuntu? Zubuntu? Huh?

This is a silly question, but - at this site it seems important to know which distribution, or flavor, or whatever, of Linux you are using. The information page I got from the people (FreeGeek) I got the refurbished machine from, who were the ones who put the operating system on, says it's Ubuntu 12.04.1 LTS. The screen that boots up just before the log-in screen says Xubuntu. I tried uname -a but nothing is said either way. Is there a command that will tell me? I've no idea why it matters, but you good folk seem to think it does, so . . .

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Ubuntu? Xubuntu? Zubuntu? Huh?

Xubuntu has the classic top bar with a menu icon that looks like a mouse head ......

Beans

Smile Re: Ubuntu? Xubuntu? Zubuntu? Huh?

So I'm a complete newbie to Ubuntu/Linux and I'm also confused by the variants or flavors. Zubuntu, Chrubuntu, Xubuntu.

What does all that mean?

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by mike555 View Post
    Xubuntu has the classic top bar with a menu icon that looks like a mouse head ......
    Um - okay. I'm sure that, with the fullness of time, I will understand the difference. So I'm running Xubuntu. And you're right. I does look like a mouse-head. Now I've got that image in my mind, I'll always look at that symbol and think, "It's wondering what the hell I'm doing."

And so am I.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro

Hi,

Here is a little more on the subject -

http://www.ubuntu.com/project/about-ubuntu/derivatives

Googlubuntu is a good tool for finding out things - see link in my signature.

Cheers -
    PopularPages: A very handy Documentation Search Tool used by many.

PopularPages Wiki Thread

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 13.10 Saucy Salamander

Quote Originally Posted by puzzledinportorchard View Post