Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: Stuck in Terminal (TTY1) [Version 12.10]

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Stuck in Terminal (TTY1) [Version 12.10]

    I'm still at the same screen.


    What might be hanging you up is that you expect a status indicator, it's been awhile since I paid any attention to the live cd but there typically isn't a status indicator to tell you how far along the process is. If this is an Aspire post the particular model, some Aspire laptops can be different, in a learning experience kind of way.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: Stuck in Terminal (TTY1) [Version 12.10]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grinage View Post
    This wouldn't be an Aspire Laptop would it?
    Yeah. It is. I should have probably clarified. It's an Acer Aspire laptop.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: Stuck in Terminal (TTY1) [Version 12.10]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grinage View Post
    If this is an Aspire post the particular model, some Aspire laptops can be different, in a learning experience kind of way.
    Aspire 5252

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Stuck in Terminal (TTY1) [Version 12.10]

    http://www.debianadmin.com/ubuntu-12...reenshots.html


    check out the link, tell us exactly which screenshot your install freezes on, that will give us more information as well

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: Stuck in Terminal (TTY1) [Version 12.10]

    Quote Originally Posted by Grinage View Post
    http://www.debianadmin.com/ubuntu-12...reenshots.html


    check out the link, tell us exactly which screenshot your install freezes on, that will give us more information as well
    http://www.debianadmin.com/wp-conten.../quantal/3.png

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Stuck in Terminal (TTY1) [Version 12.10]

    OK that answers a whole lot, first make sure you have the right install cd either ubuntu server x64 or ubuntu desktop 64. The I386 kernels will load and have problems on this machine.

    1. verify good cd, if you can burn a fresh ISO image that you know is correct
    2. go straight to the install ubuntu ignore the try feature
    3. Use Guided use entire disk if you're not familiar with partitioning in linux,
    4. be plugged into a LAN for networking, wireless will not work correctly right away you'll have to tweak it once the install is complete
    5. make sure all the boxes are checked and begin the install.
    6. make sure the laptop has a full charge and don't move or disturb it during the install the acpi features when the unit switches from ac to dc power will cause the install to hang.

    If you're trying other flavors there are other options, if you want server functions use a server CD but there are different options for this.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    15

    Re: Stuck in Terminal (TTY1) [Version 12.10]

    I had been trying to install 32bit. Could that be the problem?
    Last edited by mc5; February 1st, 2013 at 04:20 AM.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Stuck in Terminal (TTY1) [Version 12.10]

    Oh yes, this is a 64bit machine and it throws weird acpi signals which you'll have to correct later once the install is complete

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    50
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Stuck in Terminal (TTY1) [Version 12.10]

    If your install completes successfully mark this thread as solved and then to solve your wireless issues checkout the network connectivity section of the forums. Mid production of this particular laptop Acer switched up it's wireless nic cards. If your wireless only works when you are tethered or if it constantly drops these are solutions that have already been found. One final note for this machine, if you get very strange errors and glitches with no explanation you will need to edit your grub config file

    /etc/default/grub

    you will find the following lines
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet"
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX=""

    replace the quiet with nolapic or noapic or in some cases both separated by a space, if that doesn't resolve the issue then use acpi=off instead.
    after making the change run update-grub


    Welcome to the world of Unbuntu and enjoy, if you decide you don't like Gnome3 there are plenty of other flavors of Unbuntu to play with and enjoy.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •