Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Using arandr for dual monitors, how do I make changes persistent?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    10

    Re: Using arandr for dual monitors, how do I make changes persistent?

    sbarnett@sbarnett-Satellite-L755:~$ ls .screenlayout/ && ls .config/autostart/
    default.sh
    AF4C043927B5E6AC71FCF2B33F18A482A1AF95D5.chromium-service.desktop
    blueman.desktop
    dropbox.desktop
    Screen.desktop
    xfce4-settings-helper-autostart.desktop
    sbarnett@sbarnett-Satellite-L755:~$

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Using arandr for dual monitors, how do I make changes persistent?

    Ok - now

    Code:
    cat .config/autostart/Screen.desktop && cat .screenlayout/default.sh
    Let's make sure the files look like they should.

    It all 'looks' right as far as files being where they should.

    You can also see if the script is working from a terminal

    Code:
    ./.screenlayout/default.sh
    One other thing - what graphics card are you using and driver for it.

    I used to use nvidia driver with a card - had to set it up with nvidia-settings in that case.
    Last edited by Elfy; January 30th, 2013 at 03:18 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    10

    Re: Using arandr for dual monitors, how do I make changes persistent?

    sbarnett@sbarnett-Satellite-L755:~$ cat .config/autostart/Screen.desktop && cat .screenlayout/default.sh
    [Desktop Entry]
    Encoding=UTF-8
    Version=0.9.4
    Type=Application
    Name=Screen
    Comment=
    Exec=/home/sbarnett/.screenlayout/default.sh
    OnlyShowIn=XFCE;
    StartupNotify=false
    Terminal=false
    Hidden=false

    #!/bin/sh
    xrandr --output HDMI1 --off --output LVDS1 --mode 1366x768 --pos 0x0 --rotate normal --output DP1 --off --output VGA1 --mode 1360x768 --pos 1366x0 --rotate normal
    sbarnett@sbarnett-Satellite-L755:~$


    -------

    I don't know what video card I'm using. It's a Toshiba laptop.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    10

    Re: Using arandr for dual monitors, how do I make changes persistent?

    By the way I checked and it DOES work from a terminal.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

    Re: Using arandr for dual monitors, how do I make changes persistent?

    Moved to Desktop Environments

    Not sure what's going wrong to be honest, all seems ok to me - especially if running the script from a terminal does the job.

    Moved it here to get some different people looking.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Using arandr for dual monitors, how do I make changes persistent?

    Exec=/home/sbarnett/.screenlayout/default.sh
    Does this file exist and is it executable?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    10

    Re: Using arandr for dual monitors, how do I make changes persistent?

    Yes that file exists. As a matter of fact I can even make a shortcut to that on the desktop and click on it right after I boot up and it will immediately change the screen settings to the correct settings.

    Any other ideas?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    2

    Re: Using arandr for dual monitors, how do I make changes persistent?

    I solved it (it worked for me at least)!
    that's my script
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    sleep 5
    
    sh ./startdual.sh 
    exit
    startdual.sh is the saved configuration copy-pasted on m home folder and excecutable.
    Last edited by cinq; May 22nd, 2013 at 03:17 PM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •