Thread: How to Setup Ruby on Rails for Ubuntu 12.10?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

How to Setup Ruby on Rails for Ubuntu 12.10?

I need to install Ruby & Rails and all of the other components needed for complete development using Ruby on Rails. I see that Ruby is already installed (version 1.9.3) and I installed "git", but I don't have Rails and believe that there is probably a "sudo apt-get" command that will get it and any supporting packages.

Although I have been programming for over 40 years and have lots of experience with object-oriented languages, I have never used Ruby and understand that it is good for creating dynamic web pages, when coupled with the Rails framework, RubyGems, Sqlite, etc.

Any help in getting all of the components (and their documentation) would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Rich

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: How to Setup Ruby on Rails for Ubuntu 12.10?

The command is "sudo gem install rails".

You install Ruby libraries (or gems as they're known) with a tool called Rubygems (command is "gem") which is included as part of 1.9.3. It's really incredibly easy, Ruby has by far the easiest package management of any programming language.

Rubygems automatically installs documentation (accessed by the command "ri", or by typing "help" when you're in an "irb" session). Ruby is a great language, and it's worthwhile to learn some of it on it's own, Rubymonk.com is a great place to learn the basics of it for free. (not trying to sell you on any service, but I'm a newbie to programming, picked up Ruby, love it, so I am a little passionate about how great it is )
    Last edited by Mikeb85; January 24th, 2013 at 06:25 PM.

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by Mikeb85 View Post
    The command is "sudo gem install rails".