Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Installing Graphics Drivers Help

Beans

Installing Graphics Drivers Help

I just decided today on giving Ubuntu a try and so far I love the look of it. I am completely new to all of this and so far have only installed Ubuntu Restricted Extras. When I look at the Details of my pc, I notice that it doesn't display my Graphics Card, it only says 'unkown'. I tried Googling how to install ATI drivers for Ubuntu 12.10, but I don't really understand most of the posts I read. My laptop has an ATI Radeon HD4200.

Another question I have is how do I manage to play World of Warcraft? I heard of Wine and was wondering if I just need to install that to run it?

And lastly, if anyone has some general tips for someone completely new like myself on where to start off it would be highly appreciated.

Thanks for any and all help.
    Last edited by Mortarius; January 24th, 2013 at 02:16 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

Re: Installing Graphics Drivers Help

Hello and welcome to the world of Linux!

A good place to start to learn about Ubuntu is the Ubuntu Pocket Guide and Reference book which is a few years old, but the basics have remained the same. There is also the Ubuntu Manual, or if you ever become serious about this and would like to learn about it, there is this here.

As for WINE, yes, it is possible to play WoW through WINE. There is another option, too, called PlayOnLinux and a buyable option called Cedega for like 15$. There are hundreds of sites to read through, but I will direct you to some of the ones I think have the most helpful information on them.

The Ubuntu Forum Thread of "How to" Concerning World of Warcraft and WINE.

Ubuntu World of Warcraft Guide

WoW Wikia Page

And here are some videos and links I found just recently that are worth looking into;
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DIzgUq4Lpa4
    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/win...raft-wine.html