Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: OS 32bit or 64bit

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Magic City of the Plains
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: OS 32bit or 64bit

    Quote Originally Posted by omeomi View Post
    If you don't have 4GiB RAM or more installed there is no real need to change to 64bit.
    Unless you want to speed up CPU-intensive tasks such as video encoding. Doing that on my 64-bit system with 2GB RAM was measurably faster (10 to 15 mins. faster) than it was on 32-bit.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    121
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: OS 32bit or 64bit

    Quote Originally Posted by oldos2er View Post
    What software?
    Well, I had to install Ubuntu 64-bit on my laptop (because proprietary drivers were available only for 64-bit variant), and to be honest, I didn't run into serious problems so far. But when I tried to run one of my own programs, that depended on a 32-bit only library, I got error:

    Code:
    wrong elf class elfclass32
    Eventually, I downloaded 64-bit version of same library and it worked, but I guess there may be some problems running some exotic old software, or proprietary software that doesn't come with source. For example, I wonder if ports of old games (such as Unreal Tournament/Unreal Tournament 2004) still work on 64-bit Linuxes.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee,WI
    Beans
    6,282
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: OS 32bit or 64bit

    if you have any recent CPU, within the last 5 years, and if your current install isn't highly customized, then I would definitely install the 64bit version.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    6633 Big Creek Dr.
    Beans
    33
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: OS 32bit or 64bit

    Hi everyone, thanks to all of you for the info. I have a 64bit CPU, and 8gb of ram that can be upgraded to 16gb. This is my new system that I built 3 weeks ago. I will leave it this way for now. Thanks Larry

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: OS 32bit or 64bit

    Quote Originally Posted by lelovely7315 View Post
    Hi everyone, thanks to all of you for the info. I have a 64bit CPU, and 8gb of ram that can be upgraded to 16gb. This is my new system that I built 3 weeks ago. I will leave it this way for now. Thanks Larry
    Hi,

    In my opinion 8gb of ram is ample -
    PopularPages: A very handy Documentation Search Tool used by many.
    PopularPages Wiki Thread
    My New Blog

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee,WI
    Beans
    6,282
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: OS 32bit or 64bit

    Quote Originally Posted by lelovely7315 View Post
    Hi everyone, thanks to all of you for the info. I have a 64bit CPU, and 8gb of ram that can be upgraded to 16gb. This is my new system that I built 3 weeks ago. I will leave it this way for now. Thanks Larry
    if you aren't using the PAE kernel, you're only getting use of 3GB of RAM

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    105

    ubuntu i386 or amd64

    Hi,

    I have recently switched to corei5 from amd turion.
    I am confused in choosing the ubuntu version, i386 or amd64 on new corei5 machine.
    corei5 is a 64bit processor but i have read alot that i386 version should be used on intel machines.

    Any specific reason why to choose i386 even when processor is 64 bit?

    Thanks.

    KK

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    U.K
    Beans
    41,308
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: ubuntu i386 or amd64

    Both versions will work on your machine perfectly well.

    The naming convention is a historical thing, amd64 version is suitable for both intel and amd machines.
    Last edited by howefield; January 29th, 2013 at 01:43 PM.

  9. #19
    ibjsb4 is offline Ubuntu addict and loving it
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    5,003

    Re: ubuntu i386 or amd64

    amd64 version is suitable for both 32 and 64 bit machines.
    Think you made a typo.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    U.K
    Beans
    41,308
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: ubuntu i386 or amd64

    Indeed, thanks for the correction

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •