Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Deleting user settings at reboot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013

    Deleting user settings at reboot

    Hi all,
    I've got a number of laptops that we use at sheltered housing scheme for young people.
    I've installed Ubuntu to save on costs and love it but one question.
    The laptops will be used by a number of different users and its important that when the laptop is rebooted, all previous user settings, surfing history etc etc is deleted. Essentially you get a clean build every time you start the laptop.
    I used to use a piece of software from Comodo which took a snapshot of the installation and you could then password protect it and set it to restore on reboot.
    Does something like this exist for Linux?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Deleting user settings at reboot

    Just don't give out the password for the main account and make all the users use the guest account instead. The guest account is wiped every time it is logged off.

Tags for this Thread


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts