Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Cannot load certain websites in 12.04

Beans

Question Cannot load certain websites in 12.04

Ok first off, I am not very experienced with linux. I have only just installed it today so bare with me if I am unsure how to access certain things and mess with the terminal. I installed the Ubuntu 12.04 64-bit flavor using a bootable USB. I went through the installer and chose to boot alongside my Windows 7 OS. Everything installs fine, im able to access the internet but I cannot get on websites such as Facebook and some of my university sites. I have tried getting on these sites using Firefox, Chrome, and Chromium and all give me the same problem. I don't believe this is a network problem as I have no problem getting on any website while in Windows 7. I have tried searching for a solution to this problem for a while and it seems that many others have the same issues but it appears no real fix has been found.

I figured making a new post about this would not only put out the specifics of my problem but also get knowledge of this issue circulating a bit more for others having similar problems.
    Does anyone have an idea what could possibly be the issue here? Thanks.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Cannot load certain websites in 12.04

Hello,

I can try my best to help you.

Can you take a picture of the access problem or describe what it does? Does it simply not let you visit the sites with a given report, or does the page never load?

To take pictures in Ubuntu (since you said you are new?), go to the left screen and click the Dash button (the computer searching "engine") that looks like this (< clickable, also, mine is a different color because I changed themes so don't worry about it) and type in "screenshot". You should see this;

http://s1.postimage.org/59lkv2wbj/Untitled.png