Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    494

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    The signal strength was just one more thing to eliminate. Looks like you have a stray network driver r8169 that somehow got loaded. In file /etc/modprobe.d, add the line:
    blacklist r8169
    That might help.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,419
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    Quote Originally Posted by ubfan1 View Post
    The signal strength was just one more thing to eliminate. Looks like you have a stray network driver r8169 that somehow got loaded. In file /etc/modprobe.d, add the line:
    blacklist r8169
    That might help.
    In file /etc/modprobe.d
    That's a directory, not a file.

    That's not the proper way or place to blacklist a driver. That is also not a wireless driver; it's ethernet. Blacklisting it will do nothing to help here.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,419
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    May I see:
    Code:
    nm-tool
    Thanks.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    197
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Thumbs down Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    Quote Originally Posted by chili555 View Post
    May I see:
    Code:
    nm-tool
    Thanks.
    Code:
    yousaf@yousaf-Studio-540:~$ nm-tool 
    
    NetworkManager Tool 
    
    State: disconnected 
    
    - Device: eth1 ----------------------------------------------------------------- 
      Type:              802.11 WiFi 
      Driver:            wl 
      State:             disconnected 
      Default:           no 
      HW Address:        00:22:6B:9E:14:BE 
    
      Capabilities: 
    
      Wireless Properties 
        WEP Encryption:  yes 
        WPA Encryption:  yes 
        WPA2 Encryption: yes 
    
      Wireless Access Points 
    
    
    - Device: eth0 ----------------------------------------------------------------- 
      Type:              Wired 
      Driver:            r8169 
      State:             unavailable 
      Default:           no 
      HW Address:        00:21:70:5B:C4:2B 
    
      Capabilities: 
        Carrier Detect:  yes 
    
      Wired Properties 
        Carrier:         off 
    
    
    yousaf@yousaf-Studio-540:~$ ^C 
    yousaf@yousaf-Studio-540:~$
    Last edited by varunendra; February 21st, 2013 at 10:10 AM. Reason: fixed code tags
    Oh you'll get yours, Microsoft.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,419
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    It ought to see wireless access points here. I am mystified because previously it did:
    Jan 26 08:33:30 yousaf-Studio-540 NetworkManager[813]: <info> Activation (eth1/wireless): connection 'Yousaf' has security, and secrets exist. No new secrets needed.
    Is there an informative message here?
    Code:
    rfkill list all
    sudo iwlist eth1 scan
    dmesg | grep -e eth1 -e wl
    Off for a few hours, see you this evening.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    197
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Question Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    Quote Originally Posted by chili555 View Post
    It ought to see wireless access points here. I am mystified because previously it did:Is there an informative message here?
    Code:
    rfkill list all
    sudo iwlist eth1 scan
    dmesg | grep -e eth1 -e wl
    Off for a few hours, see you this evening.
    Sorry for the delay; I had problems with my laptop as well (not Ubuntu related). Anyways, here are the results.


    Code:
    yousaf@yousaf-Studio-540:~$ rfkill list all 
    0: brcmwl-0: Wireless LAN 
    	Soft blocked: no 
    	Hard blocked: no 
    
    yousaf@yousaf-Studio-540:~$ sudo iwlist eth1 scan 
    [sudo] password for yousaf: 
    eth1      No scan results 
    
    yousaf@yousaf-Studio-540:~$ dmesg |grep -e eth1 -e wl 
    [   14.317399] wl: module license 'MIXED/Proprietary' taints kernel. 
    [   14.376299] eth1: Broadcom BCM4329 802.11 Hybrid Wireless Controller 5.100.82.112 
    
    yousaf@yousaf-Studio-540:~$
    Last edited by varunendra; February 21st, 2013 at 10:11 AM. Reason: fixed code tags
    Oh you'll get yours, Microsoft.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    225

    Angry Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    I actually have the same problem. Only it just started today after an update yesterday.

    I'm running regular Ubuntu, but I do believe that I am running some "Studio" stuff. I may even have installed the Studio package.

    One interesting thing on my end (you may check yours), is that, even though it shows "connected" to the wireless network, I can't access the router through a browser (192.168.1.1).

    It also can't connect to the wired network.

    Finally - I know it's not hardware related. I'm dual booted into Windows, and it's working just fine (as evidenced by this post).

    I think there was some kind of update that destroyed things. (I'm on an ASUS laptop.)
    Cy

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    5

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    In network settings, change to automatic DHCP addresses only and manually add your DNS servers ie opendns at 208.67.222.222, 208.67.220.220. This solved my problem with connection - something to do with modem thinking computer was Windows based.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    225

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    @ozhank: I tried that myself and it didn't really do anything
    Cy

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    197
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Can't connect wirelessly, but it says I am?

    Any developments on this problem? I'm still without a functioning PC. In desparation, I tried installing Linux Mint. But I still had the exact same problem.

    I know Mint is based on Ubuntu but thought I'd try it anyways.
    HELLLLLPPPPPPPPPP ME.
    Oh you'll get yours, Microsoft.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •