Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Change wlan1 to wlan0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    1,108
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Change wlan1 to wlan0

    Is it a simple process?

    and how do I do it?

    I have NO wlan0. Did, but not there. (was a usb wireless stick but got internal wireless card working)

    Thanks,
    Tom

    HP Pavilion DV3505ea Laptop: Intel Core 2 Duo T5800 @ 2.0Ghz - 2GB RAM - 160GB HDD - nVidia GeForce 9300M GS - Intel 5100AGN Wireless

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Beans
    754
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Change wlan1 to wlan0

    Generally, the device names are assigned by the drivers of the cards.

    Why would you want to do it in the first place?
    Hate fighting with Linux? Buy Preinstalled!
    Love fighting with Linux? Try Gentoo!
    __________________________________________________
    Unanswered Posts Team || Connection problems?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    1,108
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: Change wlan1 to wlan0

    No point. Just me being me.

    HP Pavilion DV3505ea Laptop: Intel Core 2 Duo T5800 @ 2.0Ghz - 2GB RAM - 160GB HDD - nVidia GeForce 9300M GS - Intel 5100AGN Wireless

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    1,010
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Change wlan1 to wlan0

    Quote Originally Posted by nixscripter View Post
    Generally, the device names are assigned by the drivers of the cards.
    Generally, device numbers are assigned by udev.

    Try tweaking this file: /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
    (remember to do this with superuser rights and make a backup)

    If you need more help, please post the contents of that file.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Beans
    754
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Change wlan1 to wlan0

    Quote Originally Posted by inportb View Post
    Generally, device numbers are assigned by udev.
    Oh yeah, udev. Doh!

    However, I think the names of the interfaces are in fact assigned by the drivers (wlan, ra, eth, etc.) Yes, inportb is right, they are numbered by ubev on Ubuntu.

    I don't see why wlan1 isn't renamed wlan0 if the other device was removed anyway, unless udev is deciding to leave a hole for some reason.
    Hate fighting with Linux? Buy Preinstalled!
    Love fighting with Linux? Try Gentoo!
    __________________________________________________
    Unanswered Posts Team || Connection problems?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Change wlan1 to wlan0

    Udev seemed to have the same behavior in this thread. I looked into it a little: that file (70-persistent-net.rules) has the ability to identify a hardware interface by mac address and/or other identifying text from the hardware identifiers. Then it assigns the interface name. Even when you remove the interface hardware from the system, it seems that udev keeps that interface name assigned to that specific device only and doesn't clear its entry automatically.

    This is good behavior if you have a usb device which you're often plugging in and unplugging. Maybe that's why they set it up that way; I'm just speculating, though.

    I think that interface names are actually pretty flexible and you could call your eth0 interface xanadu if you wanted to. (Don't do this. I just tried it and it works, but it breaks secondary software like network-admin and iptraf.) It's best to stick to the conventional names. The drivers may have something to do with it as well. I'm not sure how udev originally decides what name to give a particular device.
    Last edited by jetsam; May 15th, 2008 at 07:55 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Beans
    7,605
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    1,108
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: Change wlan1 to wlan0

    I have now changed it

    Thanks.

    It still kept my old wireless MAC address. Deleted it and changed my current wireless card to wlan0

    Easy

    HP Pavilion DV3505ea Laptop: Intel Core 2 Duo T5800 @ 2.0Ghz - 2GB RAM - 160GB HDD - nVidia GeForce 9300M GS - Intel 5100AGN Wireless

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    47

    Re: Change wlan1 to wlan0

    sorry to dig up an old thread, but. . . I just put a new card in my laptop, and yes, it is wlan1 rather then wlan0 - is it necessary that I change this back to wlan0? (it is the internal card, so the old one will never be used again) The only place I noticed an issue was with my "netmon" screenlet, I had to update the device name (really not a problem) but will this cause issues with other software/hardware?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •