Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 47

Thread: Is DHCP installed by default in ver. 12.04 LTS?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Beans
    20,555
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Is DHCP installed by default in ver. 12.04 LTS?

    Your device is eth0, not eth1. Using manual methods usually is quite iffy with Network Manager installed and running. Before you remove it altogether, I'd try using it. Remove the erroneous settings in /etc/network/interfaces and edit connections in Network Manager to use Link Local as attached. I'm fairly confident that's what LL refers to here:
    Alternatively add the following lines to your interfaces file ('ipv4ll' is a relatively new option, easier than using 'static'):

    auto eth1
    iface eth1 inet ipv4ll
    Attached Images Attached Images
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, Ph.D.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    5,574

    Re: Is DHCP installed by default in ver. 12.04 LTS?

    Yes you would need to add an entry for eth0 since that is the label of your wired device

    HOWEVER I agree with chili555 let's see if we can get it working with ONLY network manager - so I'd suggest reverting your changes to /etc/network/interfaces and then restarting the networking service

    Code:
    sudo service networking restart
    I have just hauled mine out of the basement and connected direct to the wired ethernet port of my laptop (running 12.04) and then went to the connection manager applet, selected the wired connection, and edited it to 'Link-local Only' and the interface popped up right away (as 169.254.7.20). The existing wireless connection does not seem to have been affected - suggesting that the 'wired takes precedence' rule is based on routes rather than just the physical interface presence maybe? However mine's the (newer?) gray one - ymmv
    Last edited by steeldriver; January 18th, 2013 at 09:12 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Is DHCP installed by default in ver. 12.04 LTS?

    Is this it?

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet ipv4ll

    I have "created" or "installed" the non-auto ethernet, as I understand you to mean it. I don't see an IP in the IPv4 screen. Screenshots attached.

    mark@Lexington-19:~$ sudo service networking restart
    [sudo] password for mark:
    stop: Unknown instance:
    networking stop/waiting
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Mark_in_Hollywood; January 18th, 2013 at 09:31 PM. Reason: typo
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    5,574

    Re: Is DHCP installed by default in ver. 12.04 LTS?

    Your network manager GUI setup looks correct, but please revert your /etc/network/interfaces file to its original contents - probably just

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    There is no need to mess with that at all if we can get things working via network manager - my bad for even mentioning it in my earlier post
    Last edited by steeldriver; January 18th, 2013 at 09:34 PM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Is DHCP installed by default in ver. 12.04 LTS?

    mark@Lexington-19:~$ sudo service networking restart
    stop: Unknown instance:
    networking stop/waiting


    I believe I have the "interfaces" set per original. Screenshot attached.

    mark@Lexington-19:~$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 40:61:86:06:56:14
    inet6 addr: fe80::4261:86ff:fe06:5614/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:198 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:139 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:67716 (67.7 KB) TX bytes:28544 (28.5 KB)
    Interrupt:43 Base address:0x4000

    eth0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 40:61:86:06:56:14
    inet addr:169.254.4.60 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    Interrupt:43 Base address:0x4000
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Mark_in_Hollywood; January 18th, 2013 at 09:46 PM. Reason: ?
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    5,574

    Re: Is DHCP installed by default in ver. 12.04 LTS?

    OK looks good - now does the link local wired connection show up when you attach the HDHR and then go to 'Connection Information' (or use 'ifconfig' in a terminal)?

    EDIT: possibly you may need to delete the other wired connection ('Auto Ethernet') that is shown in your screenshot?
    Last edited by steeldriver; January 18th, 2013 at 09:53 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Is DHCP installed by default in ver. 12.04 LTS?

    I'm not playing dumb, here. I don't know what's working and what's not. I was doing all the edits to "interfaces" and NetworkManager.conf while the hdhr was plugged in via ethernet cable and powered on. I'm not much up to speed on this stuff.

    Auto Ethernet Connect deleted from Network Connections.

    At present, even after "sudo service networking restart" command, ethernet LED on hdhr flashes (means no connectivity) and

    mark@Lexington-19:~$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 40:61:86:06:56:14
    inet6 addr: fe80::4261:86ff:fe06:5614/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:209 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:139 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:71478 (71.4 KB) TX bytes:28544 (28.5 KB)
    Interrupt:43 Base address:0x4000
    Last edited by Mark_in_Hollywood; January 18th, 2013 at 09:57 PM. Reason: ?
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    5,574

    Re: Is DHCP installed by default in ver. 12.04 LTS?

    just edited my last post as you were replying - I wonder if the other wired connection definition is taking precedence (the 'Auto Ethernet' in your screenshot)? you could try deleting that - or at least unchecking its 'Connect automatically' box

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Rumplestiltskin, Cal.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Is DHCP installed by default in ver. 12.04 LTS?

    Quote Originally Posted by steeldriver View Post
    just edited my last post as you were replying - I wonder if the other wired connection definition is taking precedence (the 'Auto Ethernet' in your screenshot)? you could try deleting that - or at least unchecking its 'Connect automatically' box

    I tried the sudo service networking restart with both AutoEth and uncheck "connect automatically" and then I deleted the AutoEth entirely. Still no sugar.

    I looked up the terminal message and see at:

    http://superuser.com/questions/21896...king-on-ubunt:

    If you tried sudo start networking or sudo service networking start and received networking stop/waiting then you probably don't have things quite properly configured.

    In your /etc/network/interfaces file:

    auto lo eth0
    iface lo inet loopback

    iface eth0 inet dhcp

    Implies that eth0 is the physical adapter which is currently plugged into your internet connection. My hunch would be that for some reason you're having a conflict with another device which is trying to use the same ip address. So you might try using a static ip address (If you're using a router which supports dhcp - e.g. Linksys/Cisco):

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.200
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.1.2
    Where 192.168.1.2 is the address of your router.
    Last edited by Mark_in_Hollywood; January 18th, 2013 at 10:03 PM. Reason: ?
    AMD Athlon II X4 620, 4gig ddr2-800, m/b MSI K9N6PGM2, 1T SATA, EVGA 9500GT, Brother MFC-240C prntr, LG DVD-rom GSA-H55N

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    5,574

    Re: Is DHCP installed by default in ver. 12.04 LTS?

    Just to be clear, the 'Auto Ethernet' that I'm talking about is not the one you wrote in (and then removed from) your /etc/network/interfaces file - I meant the one that shows up in the GUI list of Wired network connections

    You can forget about service networking restart now that you reverted your /etc/network/interfaces - the GUI applet is for a separate service (called network-manager)

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •