Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Grub and Fedora 18

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    18

    Grub and Fedora 18

    Hello, I'm having a problem where Grub (on Ubuntu 12.04 LTS) cannot detect Fedora 18, even after "sudo update-grub".

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 10240 378890239 189440000 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda2 378912766 597964799 109526017 5 Extended
    /dev/sda3 597964800 625133567 13584384 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda5 595034112 597964799 1465344 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda6 378912768 445530111 33308672 83 Linux
    /dev/sda7 576606208 595032063 9212928 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda8 * 445532160 446556159 512000 83 Linux
    /dev/sda9 446558208 527446015 40443904 8e Linux LVM
    /dev/sda10 527448064 576604159 24578048 83 Linux
    Fedora is on sda8 and sda9. Ubuntu is on sda6.

    Does anyone have any advice on how I can fix this?
    Last edited by sentimentGX4; January 16th, 2013 at 07:57 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Romania
    Beans
    145
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Grub and Fedora 18

    you should mount the fedora partition first, then run the "sudo update-grub"
    dell inspiron 1521, AMD Turion, ATI mobility radeon x1270.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: Grub and Fedora 18

    Nope, mounting the Fedora partitions did not work. Well, I managed to mount sda8; but this is the message I'm getting for sda9. (Which explains why "sudo update-grub" didn't work, I guess.)

    ~$ sudo mount /dev/sda9 /mnt
    mount: unknown filesystem type 'LVM2_member'

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Romania
    Beans
    145
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Grub and Fedora 18

    what do you mean by having fedora on two partition?
    what is happening when you try to open the partition in nautilus.
    opening a partition in nautilus automatically mounts it.
    i never mount a partition in terminal.
    on the other hand, maybe fedora 18 had made same changes in its own partition.
    this method have worked for me in fedora 17.....i dont know about 18. i dont use fedora anymore.
    dell inspiron 1521, AMD Turion, ATI mobility radeon x1270.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    18

    Re: Grub and Fedora 18

    Well, I don't actually know if Fedora is two partitions. All I know is that when I let Fedora "automatically configure" itself when installing, it created two partitions: a boot partition (sda8) and a second partition (sda9). I cannot manually install Fedora due to a bug. And, yeah, a lot did change in the Fedora 18 installation process. It's a shame because this is two really glitchy releases in a row after the Beefy Miracle debacle and, if I cannot install Spherical Cow, it will mean that I will be leaving Fedora since they're pulling the plug on support for Verne.

    How do you open and mount something on Nautilus? Is it just the default GUI file browser? I am not seeing sda9 under devices at all.

    On GParted, I see a red exclamation point next to Fedora's partition (as well as Windows). According to the default GUI file browser, it means that I cannot mount Windows because it is in hibernation. Perhaps I cannot mount Fedora for the same reason?
    Last edited by sentimentGX4; January 16th, 2013 at 08:59 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Romania
    Beans
    145
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Grub and Fedora 18

    i dont know what to say since i dont have this situation.
    i used fedora 17 and ubuntu but i installed fedora 17 manually on a 10 GB root partition and grub on its own partition then, update grub from ubuntu.
    the swap partition was used in common by ubuntu and fedora.
    you also can go to windows, install easybcd, rewrite MBR then enter another entry in MBR and install grub in ubuntu partition (also from easybcd)
    or wait for a better answer.
    dell inspiron 1521, AMD Turion, ATI mobility radeon x1270.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London, England
    Beans
    8,558
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Grub and Fedora 18

    How do you open and mount something on Nautilus? Is it just the default GUI file browser?
    Nautilus is a bit more than a file manager. It is closely integrated into the desktop. When we open a partition using Nautilus (File Manager) to access the folders and files on it, we in effect, mount that partition. So, we do not need to run a command in a terminal.

    This seems to be the problem

    I am not seeing sda9 under devices at all.
    It is my guess that this is the reason

    "Warning: Logical Volume Management is not yet supported."
    sda9 is part of a LVM and is not seen as a separate partition.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Logical...anager_(Linux)

    Regards.
    It is a machine. It is more stupid than we are. It will not stop us from doing stupid things.
    Ubuntu user #33,200. Linux user #530,530


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •