Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25

Thread: only my home wireless doesn't work..?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sitka Alaska
    Beans
    94
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: only my home wireless doesn't work..?

    does it keep asking you for a password or does it take the password and then does nothing after that
    Ubuntu Server User - OSX and Windows Desktop

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    12

    Re: only my home wireless doesn't work..?

    it takes the password and when i connect it will sometimes randomly disconnect. i've deleted the connection and retyped the password like 15 times also none of the stuff on the trouble shooting guide worked

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sitka Alaska
    Beans
    94
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: only my home wireless doesn't work..?

    ok so when it takes the password does the connection work even for a little while?
    Ubuntu Server User - OSX and Windows Desktop

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    12

    Re: only my home wireless doesn't work..?

    no if you try to load a webpage it crashes and says to try reloading. and it's not just the browser because no system features can connect. It says DNS lookup failed
    Last edited by mrjustusthomas; January 16th, 2013 at 06:34 AM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    12

    Re: only my home wireless doesn't work..?

    Should I just try un installing and reinstalling ubuntu?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sitka Alaska
    Beans
    94
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: only my home wireless doesn't work..?

    might not be the worst idea but if you haven't really made any modifications to the system then it might do nothing for you

    After you enter the password for the wireless can you open a terminal and post the output of ifconfig
    Ubuntu Server User - OSX and Windows Desktop

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    12

    Re: only my home wireless doesn't work..?

    root@ubuntu:~# ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 10:bf:48:23:8f:b2
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:29902 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:29902 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:2641650 (2.6 MB) TX bytes:2641650 (2.6 MB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 44:6d:57:96:00:dc
    inet addr:10.0.0.16 Bcast:10.0.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::466d:57ff:fe96:dc/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:193495 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:86383 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:233229133 (233.2 MB) TX bytes:12573522 (12.5 MB)

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sitka Alaska
    Beans
    94
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: only my home wireless doesn't work..?

    is 10.0.0.16 a proper ip for your wifi?

    looks like you've got an ip but no gateway

    how about the ifconfig when connected to another network? does that show a gateway?
    Ubuntu Server User - OSX and Windows Desktop

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    12

    Re: only my home wireless doesn't work..?

    on my android phone it says the IP of HOME-A6F2 is 10.0.0.4...or maybe that's my phone's ip? i don't think so? here's the ifconfig for my neighbors wifi

    root@ubuntu:~# ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 10:bf:48:23:8f:b2
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:33128 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:33128 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:2919788 (2.9 MB) TX bytes:2919788 (2.9 MB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 44:6d:57:96:00:dc
    inet addr:192.168.1.125 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::466d:57ff:fe96:dc/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:196360 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:89408 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:234500393 (234.5 MB) TX bytes:13129695 (13.1 MB)

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sitka Alaska
    Beans
    94
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: only my home wireless doesn't work..?

    ok so it looks like you're connecting to your router and getting a dhcp lease can you ping 10.0.0.1 and get a reply when connected to your wifi?
    Ubuntu Server User - OSX and Windows Desktop

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •