Thread: Set correct partitions and mountpoints during install

Beans

Question Set correct partitions and mountpoints during install

Hi there,

I just bought recently a new HDD and I'd like to install Ubuntu 12.04 64bit on it as OS. Since I'm a bit new to Linux I don't know exatly how should I create the partitions to fit my needs. I'd like to have 4 partitions in the following order:
    1. SWAP (6GB as my RAM)
    2. System (30 GB, mounted to /)
    3. Home (400 GB, mounted to /home)
    4. www (50 GB)

I'm developing websites so I'd like to have a separated partition just for these projects (www). Where should I mount it? Can I mount it also to / or should I mount it to /var/www ?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

Re: Set correct partitions and mountpoints during install

The choise where to mount it is yours. You can mount it directly at /var/www or you can make some data mount point like simply /data. However, if you want apache to read the files directly from /data you will have to do some changes in the configuration I guess (I haven't worked much with apache).
    Darko.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ubuntu 18.04 LTS 64bit

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by darkod View Post
    The choise where to mount it is yours. You can mount it directly at /var/www or you can make some data mount point like simply /data. However, if you want apache to read the files directly from /data you will have to do some changes in the configuration I guess (I haven't worked much with apache).
    Thanks for the reply Darkod, it's good to know that I have this kind of freedom. Ubuntu rocks.

Beans

When you reach the disk partitioning stage during installation, pick "manual." You can then specify the sizes, filesystems, and mount points for each partition.