Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: BackTrack 5 Blackscreen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    28

    Exclamation BackTrack 5 Blackscreen

    So on the live CD the graphical interface loaded but when I installed it, I typed startx and it was just a blackscreen. How can I "get" the graphical interface to load? I really want to fix this issue.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Magic City of the Plains
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    28

    Exclamation Re: BackTrack 5 Blackscreen

    Okay.. so you moved the topic. I checked there. How does that answer the question? Can someone please help?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    The Shadow Gallery
    Beans
    6,803

    Re: BackTrack 5 Blackscreen

    Quote Originally Posted by ProxyCyber View Post
    Okay.. so you moved the topic. I checked there. How does that answer the question? Can someone please help?
    No offence but see my siganture

    If you cant get it started it is likely you dont need it.

    Backtrack is not a distro for daily desktop use, it is a toolbox for penetration testing and security auditing.

    You will be better off looking at the BT wiki or in the BT forums.

    Wiki: http://www.backtrack-linux.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
    Forums: http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forums/forum.php?

    It is likely to be a graphics driver issue, BT uses nouveau by default for Nvidia.

    Whether you post here or in the BT forums, people will want more informations such as hardware, usual command outputs, BT release so they know what kernel, x64 or x32, DE chose such as KDE or Gnome etc etc

    As a note, everything BT is designed to do is designed and can be done from command line, a GUI is not needed and rarely used to be honest. (as muts would say "learn the /pentest directory first then when if you feel lazy later you can startx"

    Peace
    Last edited by haqking; January 20th, 2013 at 01:14 AM.
    Feel Free to Bitcoin Tip: 135Rp4pwwYTHEJ4u8bxKaDQiC91N9LUoV2

    Backtrack - Giving machine guns to monkeys since 2006
    Kali-Linux - Adding a grenade launcher to the machine guns since 2013

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: BackTrack 5 Blackscreen

    I had a similar problem and this is basically how I fixed it: Post #6 here http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forum...ad.php?t=42193

    If you are uncomfortable using vim you can, if I recall correctly, press E at the GRUB menu and add the "text splash vga=791" at the end of your default image. This should load with a GUI as you had before, albeit temporarily. You can then use a deifferent text editor to configure GRUB

    Hope this helps, if not, as haqking says you'll need to provide more info

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    LOCATION=/dev/random
    Beans
    5,767
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: BackTrack 5 Blackscreen

    Quote Originally Posted by Gogsyd View Post
    If you are uncomfortable using vim you can.....
    If you are uncomfortable using vim you shouldn't be trying to use BackTrack in the first place
    Cheesemill

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    13

    Re: BackTrack 5 Blackscreen

    Quote Originally Posted by Cheesemill View Post
    If you are uncomfortable using vim you shouldn't be trying to use BackTrack in the first place
    True. And it used to grip me s*** when people on Backtrack forums asked extremely basic questions lol I have to admit though if I have another option than vi/vim I go for it

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •