Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Ndiswrapper driver present and hardware present but doesn't work?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,888
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Ndiswrapper driver present and hardware present but doesn't work?

    Which is your network? Is it "hidden"? This is no advantage for network safety, better broadcasting the ESSID and using a fixed channel.

    14 channels?! Which country do you live? 14 are normally for Japan. For example, here in Germany it is 13. Please try:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install iw
    iw reg get
    sudo iw reg set DE
    iw reg get
    Check again with "iwlist chan".

    Replace DE for Germany with your country.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    14

    Re: Ndiswrapper driver present and hardware present but doesn't work?

    I don't really have any internet right now so sudo apt-get doesn't work. I can tell you which of the 14 networks it is though.

    edit: Under"route -n" I'm using Cell 01,, or 2WIRE615. Which is Frequency 2.412 GHz
    Last edited by ChrisKjellqvist; January 13th, 2013 at 04:44 PM.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,888
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Ndiswrapper driver present and hardware present but doesn't work?

    So it is mixed encryption WPA/WPA2. Better use pure WPA2, which is more stable with the network-manager and safer than mixed mode.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    14

    Re: Ndiswrapper driver present and hardware present but doesn't work?

    Right now, WPA & WPA2 Personal is selected, I don't have any option to just use WPA in the edit connections window.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,888
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Ndiswrapper driver present and hardware present but doesn't work?

    You have to change the encryption mode in your router interface, see the manual for it.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    14

    Re: Ndiswrapper driver present and hardware present but doesn't work?

    Hey, so I was just letting it try to connect and voila, it does. The only problem, as I've found out after a couple restarts, is that 1) it takes a lot of luck for it to be able to connect. And 2) whenever typing "dmesg", a few statements are repeatedd, such as "no IPv6 routers found" and something like "link is not ready". So if you could help find the problem, that would be great, Thanks.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,888
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Ndiswrapper driver present and hardware present but doesn't work?

    What kind of router is that? Do you kave the manual (link)?

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    14

    Re: Ndiswrapper driver present and hardware present but doesn't work?

    What do you mean by type of router. I can get the manual a little later, so it'll be a few, but I'll post when i get it.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Beans
    5,888
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Ndiswrapper driver present and hardware present but doesn't work?

    Manufacturer and model type

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    14

    Re: Ndiswrapper driver present and hardware present but doesn't work?

    It's a 2Wire 3800HGV B

    Also, to add, I've solved the problem (sort of)

    It works slowly but once it connects, it is great. So what I do is, unplug it (which may not be necessary), turn on the computer, do a
    Code:
     sudo modprobe -v ndiswrapper
    I might throw a modprobe ndiswrapper sometimes (another thing that may not be completely necessary). ALSO!!! I made sure in Network Connection editing, iPv6 is turned off. Then I'll let it try to connect a few times, then unplug then reconnect. Yesterday it connected by itself on the second time trying to connect. Today it connected instantly after I replugged it in. So like I said, it's a bit of a hassle connecting it, and I have no idea what exactly is magically causing it to connects, but something in there does.
    Last edited by ChrisKjellqvist; January 18th, 2013 at 02:28 AM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •