Thread: Dual Booting

Beans

Dual Booting

Okay guys so around September my windows crashed and basically erased itself while I was trying to recover factory settings. So I installed ubuntu by itself on my laptop. Worked perfect except for a few minor details that I was slowly fixing. (brightness issues, getting Blu Ray disks to work).

And then came thanksgiving. At the airport the TSA guy was rough with my laptop which resulted in me needing to send it in to get fixed. The solution was that they replaced it. Now I have the same laptop, except for the fact that I have a working form of Windows 7 on it.

Now, I would be more than happy to just wipe it again and install Ubuntu. However I am an dig art student, so I need to use Photoshop, Illustrator, along with several other programs for the online classes I'm taking. I know that there is wine. And I've seen Photoshop CS6 working in 12.04 (the version of ubuntu I have), but I know that it is a pain to do so.

Bottom line I really, really, really, would like to dual boot.

My problem? My USB which has the installation and 'live CD' setup on it detects 'multiple operating systems' because windows made 4 primary partitions and so my only choice is the 'do something else'. Which I know requires to manually partition the hard drive. I've seen people do it with the disk manager on windows and with GParted. I've also seen people make separate partitions for swap, root, and home, and some who just made a swap and root. And of course there's the question of how much swap I need. Some say twice as much as ram, others say 1.5x, and some say only 2GB is needed regardless of ram. I also need to delete one of my primary partitions. And so I need to know how to do that as well and pick one that isn't, ya'know, super important. :/

I have windows all backed up and recovery disks made in case of an error. Though I really want to avoid that obviously.

System Specs:

HP Pavilion dv7
    i7 processor
    750 GB hard drive
    6 GB RAM