Thread: Works in terminal, but not in makefile

Hybrid View

Beans

Works in terminal, but not in makefile

Hi:

I've some experience programming on high-level (C#, java) and I thought it was time to learn some low-level stuff. I'm trying to make a test program using c++, opengl and make.

My .cpp is very simple:

Code:
    #include <iostream>
    #include <GL/glew.h>
    #include <GL/glut.h>

void render();

int main(int argc, char** args){

int exitCode = 0;

glutInit(&argc, args);
    	glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_DEPTH | GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_RGBA);
    	glutInitWindowPosition(100, 100);
    	glutInitWindowSize(640,480);
    	glutCreateWindow("Hi again");

glutDisplayFunc(render);

glutMainLoop();

return exitCode;
    }

void render (void){

}
    And also I have coded a simple make file:

Code:
    testings:  testings.o
    	   g++ testings.o -o testings -lglut

testings.o: testings.cpp
    	    g++ -c -Wall testings.cpp
    I can compile my program from terminal running:

Code:
    An it runs at expected (creates a window, and doesn't refresh the contents of it). But if when I use:

Code:
    make testings
    I get:

Code:
    g++     testings.cpp   -o testings
    /tmp/ccAjW2UV.o:testings.cpp:function main: error: undefined reference to 'glutInit'
    /tmp/ccAjW2UV.o:testings.cpp:function main: error: undefined reference to 'glutInitDisplayMode'
    /tmp/ccAjW2UV.o:testings.cpp:function main: error: undefined reference to 'glutInitWindowPosition'
    /tmp/ccAjW2UV.o:testings.cpp:function main: error: undefined reference to 'glutInitWindowSize'
    /tmp/ccAjW2UV.o:testings.cpp:function main: error: undefined reference to 'glutCreateWindow'
    /tmp/ccAjW2UV.o:testings.cpp:function main: error: undefined reference to 'glutDisplayFunc'
    /tmp/ccAjW2UV.o:testings.cpp:function main: error: undefined reference to 'glutMainLoop'
    collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
    make: *** [testings] Error 1