Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Lubuntu does not use all of my RAM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    16

    Lubuntu does not use all of my RAM

    I am running Lubuntu 12.10 64bit on my hp nx7400 laptop.
    I recently upgraded my RAM to 4GB (2x2GB memory modules), however sysinfo only displays 3.3GB of available RAM.

    In the bios I can clearly see 4GB of ram installed and I can also run a diagnosis check on the memory in the bios. So it seems to be operating system related.

    So, I am wondering what happened to the rest of it.

    In this post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...0#post12429300
    it is suggested that it might have something to do with shared video memory, however it is not posted how to verify that.

    Does someone know how to:

    • check the amount shared video memory?
    • change the amount of shared video memory?
    • find out what else might be the cause?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tewkesbury uk
    Beans
    7,625
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Lubuntu does not use all of my RAM

    HI

    This question keeps coming up.

    http://unix.stackexchange.com/questi...y-have-4-0-gib

    Kind regards
    Join us on irc at #ubuntuforums. For web chat see here

    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    Do not read newspapers on an empty stomach ~ Russian Proverb ~ BrunoLotse

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    16

    Re: Lubuntu does not use all of my RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by matt_symes View Post
    HI

    This question keeps coming up.

    http://unix.stackexchange.com/questi...y-have-4-0-gib

    Kind regards
    Thank your for the response. Your link, however, seems to be related to 32 bit operating system and architecture. My operating system and architecture is 64 bit:

    for example


    • unem -a gives: Linux martin-HPnx7400 3.5.0-21-generic #32-Ubuntu SMP Tue Dec 11 18:51:59 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    • sudo lshw |grep cpu, gives: *-cpu
      bus info: cpu@0
      capabilities: fpu fpu_exception wp vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx x86-64 constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good nopl aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm dtherm tpr_shadow cpufreq

    Accoring to wikipedia x86-64 means 64 bit and thus the cause should be something else!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    LOCATION=/dev/random
    Beans
    5,767
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Lubuntu does not use all of my RAM

    Is there a setting in your BIOS for allocating shared video memory? On my motherboard I can adjust how much RAM the onboard video adapter uses.
    Cheesemill

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    16

    Re: Lubuntu does not use all of my RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by Cheesemill View Post
    Is there a setting in your BIOS for allocating shared video memory? On my motherboard I can adjust how much RAM the onboard video adapter uses.
    No, unfortunately not.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Beans
    1,909
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Lubuntu does not use all of my RAM

    did you try reinstallin the kernel after the RAM upgrade? RAM sometimes doesn't get configured automatically

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install linux-image && sudo apt-get update

    blog
    Donations BTC : 12FwoB7uAM5FnweykpR1AEEDVFaTLTYFkS
    DOUBLEPLUSGOOD!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Beans
    16

    Re: Lubuntu does not use all of my RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by fdrake View Post
    did you try reinstallin the kernel after the RAM upgrade? RAM sometimes doesn't get configured automatically

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install linux-image && sudo apt-get update
    Thank you for the suggestion, I tried it, but it didn work.
    I upgraded from 1GB ram to 4GB, so part of it is also actually visible.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Western Australia
    Beans
    11,443
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Lubuntu does not use all of my RAM

    Something in your BIOS is set to only address in 32-bit mode.
    I try to treat the cause, not the symptom. I avoid the terminal in instructions, unless it's easier or necessary. My instructions will work within the Ubuntu system, instead of breaking or subverting it. Those are the three guarantees to the helpee.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Boston
    Beans
    1,909
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Lubuntu does not use all of my RAM

    Quote Originally Posted by 3rdalbum View Post
    Something in your BIOS is set to only address in 32-bit mode.
    but he said he is running ubunut 64bit.

    @OP
    can you provide us with the
    Code:
    uname -a
    sudo apt-get install dmidecode
    sudo dmidecode --type memory
    free -mh
    Last edited by fdrake; December 31st, 2012 at 01:48 PM.

    blog
    Donations BTC : 12FwoB7uAM5FnweykpR1AEEDVFaTLTYFkS
    DOUBLEPLUSGOOD!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tewkesbury uk
    Beans
    7,625
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Lubuntu does not use all of my RAM

    Hi

    Yes, that article was for 32 bit.

    Can we take a look at what Ubuntu is actually seeing ?

    Open a terminal and type (these are all case sensitive)

    Code:
    dmesg | grep Mem
    Code:
    grep MemTotal /proc/meminfo
    Code:
    free -m
    Code:
    sudo dmidecode -t 6
    Please post the results back here.

    Kind regards
    Join us on irc at #ubuntuforums. For web chat see here

    If you believe everything you read, you better not read. ~ Japanese Proverb

    Do not read newspapers on an empty stomach ~ Russian Proverb ~ BrunoLotse

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •