Thread: LUKS initramfs boot problem: " /dev/mapper/ubuntu-root does not exist."

Beans

LUKS initramfs boot problem: " /dev/mapper/ubuntu-root does not exist."

Hi everyone,

Long time lurker, first time poster, having spent 2 days searching now to no avail!

I am new to Linux/Ubuntu, hence putting this in the Beginners section. But I learn quick. Since first 'testing out' Ubuntu 3 weeks ago, Windows has disappeared entirely from my digital life (and hard drive), and I'm learning more about computers than ever before. But I think I may have gone in over my head a bit here. Please forgive the essay below - the problem is a little unusual

I'm running 12.04 on a laptop (with UEFI BIOS), with full disk encryption set up up using the Alternate CD. I recently made a backup image of the entire hard drive using dd, to an external USB hdd. Having recently made some changes on the laptop, I tried to plug in the external USB clone to copy the files to it. Despite getting the password prompt and having it appear in the Disk Utility as a logical volume group, it would not actually mount the external drive, saying it was 'not a mountable file system'. Tried it on my desktop, and it mounted up just fine (once I installed lvm2).

Using pvdisplay, I noticed that both the external drive and internal laptop drive had the same UUID (duh, it's a clone!). So, on the desktop, I used pvchange -u to change the external drive's uuid. Plugged it into the laptop, alas, still no joy. Gave up, turned off the laptop (drive still plugged in), went and had dinner. Came back, unplugged external drive from now-off laptop, tried to boot. Problems!

It boots to the password prompt screen like normal. Enter the password, and after a long wait, it drops to an initramfs prompt, with the error:

"ALERT! /dev/mapper/ubuntu-root does not exist."
    Poop.