Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Get 32 or 64 bit?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Michigan
    Beans
    59
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Question Get 32 or 64 bit?

    I have a new system I built, not the best but way better that anything I've been using. I'm sick of Windows. I've used Linux enough to be alright to jump into a main machine with it. What I want to know is, what advantage is their on 64bit over 32bit?

    My machine is as follows:
    -ASUS M5A78L-M LX PLUS AMD 760G Motherboard
    -AMD HDX945WFGIBOX Phenom II X4 945 Quad Core Processor - 3.00GHz, 6MB Cache
    - (TWO) Kingston HyperX Red KHX16C9B1R/4 4GB Memory Module - 1600MHz, 9-9-9, DDR3, CL9, 1.65V, Unbuffered
    -Galaxy GeForce GTS 250 1 GB PCI Express 2.0 Graphics Card 25SGF6HX1RUV

    Nothing is overclocked. All is running at stock specs. Thanks for your input.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    79
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Get 32 or 64 bit?

    The 32 bit version is for 32 bit CPUs, the 64 bit version is for 64 bit CPUs.
    Although you could run the 32 bit version on a 64 bit CPU, you should go for the 64 bit version.

    Generally speaking, 64 bit CPUs can access more RAM (especially since you have more than 4 GB), and they can perform more complex operations than a 32 bit CPU.
    But you need a 64 bit operating system in order to take advantage of this.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    185
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Get 32 or 64 bit?

    I would definitely recommend going with x64.

    This might help your Decision...
    http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...210_3264&num=1
    Last edited by The Spectre; January 5th, 2013 at 03:00 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    12o4/14o4
    Beans
    Hidden!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    In my skin.
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: Get 32 or 64 bit?

    Thread moved to Recurring Discussions

    64bit AMD ISO. That's it. It will make better use of your hardware.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    1,331

    Re: Get 32 or 64 bit?

    64-bit definitely because of the RAM.

    There still seem to be some naysayers out there, but IMO there is very little reason to not go 64-bit multilib, meaning use 64-bit with 32-bit libraries too. There are a few plugins like flash that barely have Linux support, and when they do it seems it's 32-bit.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Michigan
    Beans
    59
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Get 32 or 64 bit?

    Thanks. What threw me for a loop was on the download page it had (recommended) on the 32bit version.

    Think I'll have any driver problems? I also have a Netgear WNA1100 wireless card...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    1,331

    Re: Get 32 or 64 bit?

    Again, install 32-bit libraries and you'll get the best of both worlds.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Get 32 or 64 bit?

    I run 64 bit and everything works fine.
    I also have 8gb ram.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    /Earth/India/Patna
    Beans
    147
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Get 32 or 64 bit?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim2029 View Post
    Thanks. What threw me for a loop was on the download page it had (recommended) on the 32bit version.
    Don't worry ... just go for 64 bit

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •