Thread: Installing Creative Live! Cam voice Ubuntu 12.04

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Installing Creative Live! Cam voice Ubuntu 12.04

I am a noob and installed Ubuntu after my frustrations with Vista reached peak. I am currently running Ubuntu 12.04 dual boot with Vista on a Dell Inspiron 1501 laptop. I have a Creative Live! Cam voice webcam that I want to use for Skype calls. It works on audio, but does not work on video.

I have tried to download Cheese to test for video, but the first attempt in installing Cheese ended with a broken software center. The second attempt at installing Cheese, was successful with the Cheese install (installed via Terminal), but any attempt to open Cheese ends in an error message that states that the application encountered an error and was shut down. I don't necessarily care if I get Cheese up and running, as my sole objective is to make Skype video calls. However, if the best way to troubleshoot video issues is to fix Cheese, then I'm willing to go down that road.

Code:
    lsusb
    mimi@mimi-Inspiron-1501:~$ lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 041e:404b Creative Technology, Ltd
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 041e:4048 Creative Technology, Ltd
    Bus 001 Device 004: ID 041e:4045 Creative Technology, Ltd Live! Cam Voice

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Beans
    Distro

Re: Installing Creative Live! Cam voice Ubuntu 12.04