Page 32 of 60 FirstFirst ... 22303132333442 ... LastLast
Results 311 to 320 of 598

Thread: GNOME3 Staging PPA

  1. #311
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,858
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Oops!

    I installed lubuntu-desktop last night. Now, I can't log into Unity via GDM.

    I answered the 'call' for more Lubuntu participation in +1. That's what you get for being a nice guy. LoL!

    Anyway, that or one of the incremental upgrades I did yesterday slammed the Unity door in my face, again.

    GNOME3 Staging is still loading just fine, as always.

    Just saying...
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  2. #312
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,858
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Okay...

    Tried to start Unity from CLI, this morning, and I'm getting a seg fault, when the icons are loading, sooo...

    I went into ccsm, and the Unity Plugin was disabled. I tried to re-enable it, and OpenGL, Scale, and so forth, and so on, but no joy.

    Technically, I CAN log into Unity via GDM, but I'm getting a "unity-panel-service: process not found" error because the Unity Plugin et al. is being disabled at startup, e.g. no panels. It's just sitting dead, at the desktop, probably because of conflicts in my Unity setup -- wobbly windows, the cube, or whatever. A reset is probably in order. I'll try resetting Unity, when I get a chance, this afternoon... and, go from there.

    Anyway, I judge this is a conflict in Unity, not a GDM/GNOME3 problem.
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  3. #313
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    3,982
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Little bump on ricotz road:
    Code:
    The following packages will be upgraded:   libgtk-3-common 
    1 packages upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
    Need to get 2,834 kB of archives. After unpacking 60.4 kB will be used.
    The following packages have unmet dependencies:
     libgtk-3-bin : Depends: libgtk-3-common (= 3.9.1~git20130515.21565e67-0ubuntu1~13.10~ricotz0) but 3.9.1~git20130522.8b1740b9-0ubuntu1~13.10~ricotz0 is to be installed.
     libgtk-3-0 : Depends: libgtk-3-common (= 3.9.1~git20130515.21565e67-0ubuntu1~13.10~ricotz0) but 3.9.1~git20130522.8b1740b9-0ubuntu1~13.10~ricotz0 is to be installed.
    Update₁: bump removed while I was posting... Thank You ricotz...
    Last edited by zika; May 22nd, 2013 at 11:28 AM.

  4. #314
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,858
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    Little bump[...]
    Heh! Wish this bump could be ironed out...

    Code:
    Errors were encountered while processing:
     rhythmbox-plugin-zeitgeist
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
    Been hitting it for a week or two.
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  5. #315
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    3,982
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    Heh! Wish this bump could be ironed out...

    Code:
    Errors were encountered while processing:
     rhythmbox-plugin-zeitgeist
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
    Been hitting it for a week or two.
    I've removed RB completelly just at the start of that bump...
    Never turned back...

  6. #316
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,858
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    I've removed RB completelly just at the start of that bump...
    Never turned back...
    I prefer Guayadeque, but we're supposed to be testing... LoL!

    Actually, RB isn't too bad these days, if you implement the MPRIS plugin.
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  7. #317
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    ExodusHair<Čubura
    Beans
    3,982
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    I prefer Guayadeque, but we're supposed to be testing... LoL!

    Actually, RB isn't too bad these days, if you implement the MPRIS plugin.
    Clementine, Guayadeque and Audacious are more than adequate for me... At least first has MPRIS...
    If purity of testing would be a prerequisite I would not qualify for any kind of testing...

  8. #318
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NH USA
    Beans
    1,276
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by zika View Post
    I've removed RB completelly just at the start of that bump...
    Never turned back...
    RB also still has this streaming bug:

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...x/+bug/1153934

    I've been using Audacious for streaming audio, and it works great. It actually integrates better with the MPRIS extension than RB does.

  9. #319
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,858
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    w00t! Breakage!

    Latest upgrades totally borked GDM -- hard-locks this box during boot process(es). My best guess is, it's hardware related -- PS/2 keyboard goes dormant, et cetera. Power button still works, though...

    Screen displays a torrent of errors -- happened to see "Gnome Display Manager [Failed]" scroll by after the umpteenth reset. Chalk up one for serendipity!

    Switching to LightDM (haven't had to use it in ages). That allowed me to boot, but once I logged into Gnome3 Staging, I noticed some of my extensions turned janky.

    Example: Dock-to-Dock extension (arguably a personal hack - compiled from source) autohides regardless of the settings - wasn't authored to work with 3.9.1.

    DBUS MPRIS looks to be dead, too.

    Continuing...
    Last edited by VinDSL; May 25th, 2013 at 06:25 PM. Reason: Addendum
    Intel ® P4 Extreme Edition 3.4 (Gallatin) || DFI ® LanParty PRO875B rev B1
    Crucial ® Ballistix Tracer PC4000 1GB || Mountain Mods U2-UFO Opti-1203
    XFX 7600GT 560M AGP (PV-T73A-UDF3) || Corsair HX520W Modular PSU

  10. #320
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Beans
    2,455
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: GNOME3 Staging PPA

    Quote Originally Posted by VinDSL View Post
    w00t! Breakage!

    Latest upgrades totally borked GDM -- hard-locks this box during boot process(es). My best guess is, it's hardware related -- PS/2 keyboard goes dormant, et cetera. Power button still works, though...

    Screen displays a torrent of errors -- happened to see "Gnome Display Manager [Failed]" after the umpteenth reset. Chalk up one for serendipity!

    Switching to LightDM (haven't had to use it in ages) allowed me to boot, but once I'm logged into Gnome3 Staging, some of my extensions turned janky.

    Example: Dock-to-Dock extension (arguably a personal hack) autohides regardless of the settings - wasn't authored to work with 3.9.1.

    DBUS MPRIS looks to be dead, too.

    Continuing...
    Hi VinDSL,

    Could you have the same bug as I do.
    After upgrading (from saucy-proposed) vte3, booting stopped to tty1.
    Gdm just wont work.
    However, I can command startx from tty1 and that works.
    I downgraded vte3 (libvte-2.90-9 and libvte-2.90-common)) back to the version 0.34.2-0ubuntu2 and that solved the booting issue.
    Last edited by Harry33; May 26th, 2013 at 12:17 PM.

Page 32 of 60 FirstFirst ... 22303132333442 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •