Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Firefox 17.0.1 uses traditional menu bar instead of single menu button in xfce

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    393
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Smile Firefox 17.0.1 uses traditional menu bar instead of single menu button in xfce

    Not new in v17, it has always been this way:

    On Windows at work there is a single orange firefox button that houses the menu tree.

    At home on xubuntu it is the traditional File, Edit, View etc always in view menu bar.

    Space is a premium and I wish there was a firefox menu button that could be placed by the address bar or tabs.

    Is this possible?

    p.s. Global Menu Integration addon was disabled. I enabled, restarted, but no change. So disabled again.
    Last edited by finny388; December 11th, 2012 at 05:31 AM. Reason: add info

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    1,016

    Re: Firefox 17.0.1 uses traditional menu bar instead of single menu button in xfce

    Right click on the empty space on the right of the plus sign that adds a new tab and uncheck "Menu Bar".
    Apps for Ubuntu (outdated) ---> http://cid-23a283fc1010a1bb.skydrive...%20Wine|6?uc=1
    Use Mnemosyne to Study for School!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bombay
    Beans
    6,564
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Firefox 17.0.1 uses traditional menu bar instead of single menu button in xfce

    Quote Originally Posted by finny388 View Post
    ...
    On Windows at work there is a single orange firefox button that houses the menu tree.
    ...
    I don't think that this button is available for Firefox on any Linux DE by default since it was introduced in v4 (I think). No idea if someone has come up with an extension.
    de gustibus et coloribus non est disputandum -- Wiktionary

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Somewhere...
    Beans
    1,559
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Firefox 17.0.1 uses traditional menu bar instead of single menu button in xfce

    Quote Originally Posted by vasa1 View Post
    I don't think that this button is available for Firefox on any Linux DE by default since it was introduced in v4 (I think). No idea if someone has come up with an extension.
    It has been available since version 4. You just need to disable the menu bar, like s3a said. I have Xubuntu on my mom's computer and I can confirm that you can indeed activate the Firefox button.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Bombay
    Beans
    6,564
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Firefox 17.0.1 uses traditional menu bar instead of single menu button in xfce

    Quote Originally Posted by zombifier25 View Post
    It has been available since version 4. You just need to disable the menu bar, like s3a said. I have Xubuntu on my mom's computer and I can confirm that you can indeed activate the Firefox button.
    ...
    You're right. Thing is I had removed the button (by editing userChrome.css) and forgotten that I had done so!
    de gustibus et coloribus non est disputandum -- Wiktionary

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Beans
    393
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn

    Re: Firefox 17.0.1 uses traditional menu bar instead of single menu button in xfce

    Well don't I feel silly.

    Thanks everyone, especially s3a.

    My word, what a pleasure to be part of the linux community.

    Have a great day everyone!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •