Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Nvidia 640M

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    9

    Nvidia 640M

    I have problem witch my nvidia 640M
    You do not appear to be using the NVIDIA X driver. Please edit your X configuration file (just run `nvidia-xconfig` as root), and restart the X server.
    my error now i have resolution 640x480 how i can install my driver?
    I resets xorg.conf but not help my ubuntu.
    My xorg.0.log
    http://pastebin.com/fhvRRN3g
    Thx for help
    set4812

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Beans
    11

    Re: Nvidia 640M problem

    I'm having the same problem. I've tried all the usual uninstall-reinstall, but everytime i get the fact that my config file isn't up to date even after a reboot....

    Any thoughts?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Nvidia 640M problem

    @set4812 That is a generic error, it could be a different issue than what is described here. I suggest you open a new thread and post there:

    Code:
    cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log
    lsmod
    dmesg
    @Sanitylost

    Do you have one of these new laptops that come with two video chips? I see that intel is detecting and driving 'something' in there.

    Try placing this in your xorg.conf (overwriting other instances of this section):

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "nVidia Card"
    Driver "nvidia"
    EndSection
    linux-git/fs/super.c: "Self-destruct in 5 seconds. Have a nice day...\n",

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    /home/
    Beans
    196
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Nvidia 640M problem

    Try installing the latest Nvidia drivers as well. Open a terminal and execute the following commands:

    Code:
    sudo apt-add-repository ppa:ubuntu-x-swat/x-updates

    Code:
    sudo apt-get update

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install nvidia-current nvidia-settings

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    9

    Re: Nvidia 640M problem

    lsmod
    snd_hda_codec_hdmi 32474 1
    snd_hda_codec_realtek 224173 1
    parport_pc 32866 0
    ppdev 17113 0
    bnep 18281 2
    rfcomm 47604 0
    bluetooth 180104 10 bnep,rfcomm
    binfmt_misc 17540 1
    nvidia 11262536 0
    joydev 17693 0
    snd_hda_intel 33773 3
    snd_hda_codec 127706 3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_i ntel
    snd_hwdep 13668 1 snd_hda_codec
    snd_pcm 97188 3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
    snd_seq_midi 13324 0
    snd_rawmidi 30748 1 snd_seq_midi
    acer_wmi 28418 0
    sparse_keymap 13890 1 acer_wmi
    snd_seq_midi_event 14899 1 snd_seq_midi
    snd_seq 61896 2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
    snd_timer 29990 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
    snd_seq_device 14540 3 snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
    wmi 19256 1 acer_wmi
    snd 78855 16 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_i ntel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,s nd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    arc4 12529 2
    i915 473240 2
    drm_kms_helper 46978 1 i915
    psmouse 97362 0
    drm 242038 3 i915,drm_kms_helper
    uvcvideo 72627 0
    ath9k 132390 0
    mac80211 506816 1 ath9k
    mac_hid 13253 0
    ath9k_common 14053 1 ath9k
    ath9k_hw 411151 2 ath9k,ath9k_common
    ath 24067 3 ath9k,ath9k_common,ath9k_hw
    mei 41616 0
    cfg80211 205544 3 ath9k,mac80211,ath
    i2c_algo_bit 13423 1 i915
    video 19596 1 i915
    soundcore 15091 1 snd
    snd_page_alloc 18529 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    serio_raw 13211 0
    videodev 98259 1 uvcvideo
    v4l2_compat_ioctl32 17128 1 videodev
    lp 17799 0
    parport 46562 3 parport_pc,ppdev,lp
    uas 18180 0
    usb_storage 49198 1
    hid_a4tech 12678 0
    usbhid 47199 0
    hid 99559 2 hid_a4tech,usbhid
    sdhci_pci 18826 0
    sdhci 33205 1 sdhci_pci
    tg3 152032 0
    I have intel hd 400 maybe intel graphic have problem.
    on xorg.conf sections monitor i think see small problem
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Unknown"
    ModelName "Unknown"
    HorizSync 28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh 43.0 - 72.0
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection
    i have new driver dont need reinstall

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    /home/
    Beans
    196
    Distro
    Lubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Nvidia 640M problem

    Quote Originally Posted by set4812 View Post
    lsmod

    I have intel hd 400 maybe intel graphic have problem.
    on xorg.conf sections monitor i think see small problem
    What do you have?? Intel or Nvidia????
    Your first post here says you have a Nvidia:
    I have problem witch my nvidia 640M
    and now you say you have intel?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    9

    Re: Nvidia 640M problem

    Intel from processor and nvidia . On windows nvidia say first instal intel graphic driver maybe some problem is on linux

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Nvidia 640M

    Is there any solution to installation of 640m on Ubuntu? I'm pretty greenhorn so accurate explanation would be great.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •