Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Firefox launcher problem

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Exodus Hair<- Čubura
    Beans
    3,691
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Firefox launcher problem

    Quote Originally Posted by serdotlinecho View Post
    Unity shortcut hint overlay. Hold superkey and tap the number on keyboard

    I do not have Super key... Old IBM keyboard, pre-pre-Win... I'll have to assign one... Thank You...
    BTW how am I now going to add a new keyboard layout? It doesn't happen in SystemSettings, I should obviously have privilege... New teaser... I'll wait until I have enough time for that...

    Update₁: OK, I've changed Super to another combination and I can now test hints in Launcher... But the question about adding keyboard layout still stands (moved to a new thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2092243)...
    (I must admit that most of the time I spend in dwm, spectrwm, fvwm so I'm used to change keyboard layout through setxkbmap, but of course this GUI way worked for me earlier, I do not know if it worked in RR...)
    Thank You for heads up about new feature. I even like it... Excuse me for off-topic here...
    Last edited by zika; December 7th, 2012 at 11:42 AM.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,234
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Firefox launcher problem

    I get that square box up in the corner to for about 5 seconds !

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NH USA
    Beans
    1,257
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Firefox launcher problem

    I reinstalled Raring yesterday, and the FF launcher problem was still there. So I went to /usr/share/applications and had a look at firefox.desktop - figured I'd trim it down until it work.

    Phase 1 was to simply remove all the other languages from Name, Comment, Generic Name, etc., besides the first default entry, to make it easier to work with. Tried it out, and voila! It works as expected!

    It seems like something among all those language choices is causing a problem...

    [Edited: Ack! Spoke too soon! It only worked once, and then exhibited the same behavior. I cut it down to rock-bottom minimum, and it seems to work repeatedly now. I'll add in the other lines until it fails. I'd really like to know what's going on.]

    [Edit 2: Got it in one - it was the line 'StartupNotify=true']
    Last edited by sgage; December 9th, 2012 at 04:34 PM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    NH USA
    Beans
    1,257
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Firefox launcher problem

    Quote Originally Posted by cecilpierce View Post
    I get that square box up in the corner to for about 5 seconds !
    I get the square box at startup, too, but only for less than a second.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Exodus Hair<- Čubura
    Beans
    3,691
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Firefox launcher problem

    Did You try disabling all add-ons that come about integrating Firefox to Ubunty, Unity,... and then re-enabling one by one, if You need them?
    Last edited by zika; December 9th, 2012 at 09:42 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Miami FL USA
    Beans
    1,234
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Firefox launcher problem

    Whats with that black box in the corner

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •