Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Recovering from a grub rescue crash query

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    238
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    [Solved] Recovering from a grub rescue crash query

    Ok so I found this, but I worry that it won't fix my issue maybe?

    I dual boot Windows and the second to latest update of Ubuntu, I was just updating to the latest update of Ubuntu when I got this crash.
    If I follow these steps, will this fix my issue or is it for a different situation and will not work?
    Last edited by felinoel; December 8th, 2012 at 06:00 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    238
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Recovering from a grub rescue crash query

    I think it might not work in my situation because I dual boot.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Recovering from a grub rescue crash query

    Lets see where you are at:

    Post the link to the BootInfo report that this creates. Is part of Boot-Repair:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Info
    Boot Repair -Also handles LVM, GPT, separate /boot and UEFI dual boot.:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair
    You can repair many boot issues with this or 'Create BootInfo' report (Other Options) & post the link it creates, so we can see your exact configuration and diagnose advanced problems.
    Install in Ubuntu liveCD or USB or Full RepairCD with Boot-Repair (for newer computers)
    http://sourceforge.net/p/boot-repair/home/Home/
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuSecureRemix
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    238
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Recovering from a grub rescue crash query

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    Lets see where you are at:

    Post the link to the BootInfo report that this creates.
    Sorry it took me so long, could NOT get it to connect to the wireless, gave up and am now inches away from wifi box connected with a tiny cord on the ground, lol wow where are my longer cords.

    Anyways, http://paste.ubuntu.com/1411627/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Recovering from a grub rescue crash query

    The grub in the MBR is looking for the rest of its files in sda4 but your install is in sda3. I would run the Boot-Repair suggested updates.

    Is the Windows Vista? It looks like sda2 is main install and sda1 is recovery. Grub2's os-prober usually reversed the descriptions for some reason with Vista. Or Vista is not clear on which is which. Often best to run Grub-Customizer to change descriptions it the reinstall does not sort it out.

    New Grub Customizer works with 12.10
    http://www.webupd8.org/2012/09/grub-...-released.html
    HOWTO: Grub Customizer Updated for grub 1.99
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1664134
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    238
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Recovering from a grub rescue crash query

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    The grub in the MBR is looking for the rest of its files in sda4 but your install is in sda3. I would run the Boot-Repair suggested updates.

    Is the Windows Vista? It looks like sda2 is main install and sda1 is recovery. Grub2's os-prober usually reversed the descriptions for some reason with Vista. Or Vista is not clear on which is which. Often best to run Grub-Customizer to change descriptions it the reinstall does not sort it out.

    New Grub Customizer works with 12.10
    http://www.webupd8.org/2012/09/grub-...-released.html
    HOWTO: Grub Customizer Updated for grub 1.99
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1664134
    I am at work atm and am not near my laptop, but I think it is Win7.
    Don't remember, I only ever use it when I need PhotoShop...


    So you say to run the Boot-Repair suggested updates and if that doesn't work then run Grub-Customizer to change descriptions?
    Will do once I get home, thanks!
    Last edited by felinoel; December 6th, 2012 at 02:11 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    238
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Recovering from a grub rescue crash query

    Quote Originally Posted by felinoel View Post
    I am at work atm and am not near my laptop, but I think it is Win7.
    Don't remember, I only ever use it when I need PhotoShop...


    So you say to run the Boot-Repair suggested updates and if that doesn't work then run Grub-Customizer to change descriptions?
    Will do once I get home, thanks! http://paste.ubuntu.com/1413710/
    http://paste.ubuntu.com/1413710/

    Ok well I got Ubuntu back on my laptop, except Windows is gone.
    Also my Firefox has no URL input spots..?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SW Forida
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Recovering from a grub rescue crash query

    Run this:
    sudo update-grub

    You show a Windows boot/repair in sda1 and an install in sda2. Boot repair usually copies the essential boot files from sda1 to sda2, so you can boot from either. But grub should find them.
    How did you resize your Windows partition?

    It also says you have flexnet. Grub used to have issues or correctly flexnet wrote into grub and damaged it. But grub created a work around. You must have some expensive DRM 'ed software installed.
    For more info on UEFI boot install & repair - Regularly Updated :
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2147295
    Please use Thread Tools above first post to change to [Solved] when/if answered completely.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    France
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Arrow Re: Recovering from a grub rescue crash query

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    Run this:
    sudo update-grub
    +1

    @OldFred: in the log sda1 and sda2 appear in os-prober output, but not in update-grub output. That's strange.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Beans
    238
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Recovering from a grub rescue crash query

    Quote Originally Posted by oldfred View Post
    Run this:
    sudo update-grub
    Code:
    me@me-Notbook-PC:~$ sudo update-grub
    [sudo] password for me: 
    Generating grub.cfg ...
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-34-generic-pae
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-34-generic-pae
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-33-generic-pae
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-33-generic-pae
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-32-generic-pae
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-32-generic-pae
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-30-generic-pae
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-30-generic-pae
    Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-23-generic-pae
    Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-23-generic-pae
    Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
    Found Windows 7 (loader) on /dev/sda1
    Found Windows Recovery Environment (loader) on /dev/sda2
    Found Windows Recovery Environment (loader) on /dev/sda4
    done
    me@me-Notbook-PC:~$
    You show a Windows boot/repair in sda1 and an install in sda2. Boot repair usually copies the essential boot files from sda1 to sda2, so you can boot from either. But grub should find them.
    How did you resize your Windows partition?

    It also says you have flexnet. Grub used to have issues or correctly flexnet wrote into grub and damaged it. But grub created a work around. You must have some expensive DRM 'ed software installed.
    I used the partitioner that comes with installing Ubuntu if I recall.

    Expensive DRM? I just have the Windows that came with the laptop and PhotoShop, I guess PhotoShop was expensive but I bought it severely outdated so it would be cheap.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •