Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 47

Thread: Nvidia 6200 - Olevia 26" TV - DPMS Suspend

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Athens/Greece
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Nvidia 6200 - Olevia 26" TV - DPMS Suspend

    Lets try another configuration that might help . Ohh and Option "DPMS" "FALSE" is wrong. The correct is Option "DPMS" "false" (lower case).
    OK. Lets try below...

    First remove the current xorg.conf file and create a new.
    Code:
    sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    sudo nvidia-xconfig
    Then create a new configuration file inside /xorg.conf.d/ (if the folder does not exist, create it)
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/
    Then
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-monitor.conf
    add these lines inside
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier "LVDS0"
        Option "DPMS" "false"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier "ServerLayout0"
        Option "BlankTime"  "0"
        Option "StandbyTime" "0"
        Option "SuspendTime" "0"
        Option "OffTime" "0"
    EndSection
    and save the file. Important here is to replace LVDS0 , with your actual monitor . E.g VGA1 or whatever it is.. find it with
    Code:
    xrandr
    Save the file and reboot.

    Thanks

  2. #32
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee,WI
    Beans
    6,280
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Nvidia 6200 - Olevia 26" TV - DPMS Suspend

    Quote Originally Posted by NikTh View Post
    Lets try another configuration that might help . Ohh and Option "DPMS" "FALSE" is wrong. The correct is Option "DPMS" "false" (lower case).
    OK. Lets try below...

    First remove the current xorg.conf file and create a new.
    Code:
    sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    sudo nvidia-xconfig
    Then create a new configuration file inside /xorg.conf.d/ (if the folder does not exist, create it)
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/
    Then
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-monitor.conf
    add these lines inside
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier "LVDS0"
        Option "DPMS" "false"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier "ServerLayout0"
        Option "BlankTime"  "0"
        Option "StandbyTime" "0"
        Option "SuspendTime" "0"
        Option "OffTime" "0"
    EndSection
    and save the file. Important here is to replace LVDS0 , with your actual monitor . E.g VGA1 or whatever it is.. find it with
    Code:
    xrandr
    Save the file and reboot.

    Thanks
    xrandr output is
    Code:
    Screen 0: minimum 640 x 480, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1024 x 768
    default connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       1024x768        0.0* 
       800x600         0.0  
       640x480         0.0
    UPDATE: I used a live usb stick of 12.04.1 and this is what xrandr returned
    Code:
    xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1360 x 768, maximum 4096 x 4096
    VGA-1 connected 1360x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 510mm x 290mm
       1360x768       60.2*+   60.0  
       1400x1050      60.0  
       1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
       1440x900       75.0     59.9  
       1280x960       60.0  
       1280x800       84.9     74.9     59.8  
       1152x864       75.0  
       1280x768       84.8     74.9     59.9     60.1  
       1280x720       60.0  
       1024x768       85.0     75.1     75.0     70.1     60.0  
       800x600        85.1     72.2     75.0     60.3     56.2  
       848x480        60.0  
       640x480        85.0     75.0     72.8     60.0     59.9  
       720x400        85.0  
       640x400        85.1  
       640x350        85.1  
    DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    TV-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    so i put VGA-1 within that 10-monitor.conf file and the system gets to the login manager but is unresponsive, no mouse movement or keyboard, can't go to tty sessions.

    I should mention that I have tried adding those parameters to the server layout section of a xorg.conf file and it made no impact on the DPMS SUSPEND screen.. I am stumped!! I should also note that when there is no xorg.conf file this is what an Xorg.0.log file looks like, notice the VESA mentions, also I believe nouveau is being loaded per lsmod but I have it blacklisted within a file within /etc/modprobe.d/ very strange.
    http://pastebin.com/n4nz9rHA
    Last edited by dannyboy79; December 5th, 2012 at 06:11 PM.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee,WI
    Beans
    6,280
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Nvidia 6200 - Olevia 26" TV - DPMS Suspend

    bump, please help.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee,WI
    Beans
    6,280
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Nvidia 6200 - Olevia 26" TV - DPMS Suspend

    please help, where did bicyclerboy and NikJT go?

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee,WI
    Beans
    6,280
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Nvidia 6200 - Olevia 26" TV - DPMS Suspend

    would really like some help with this. it's now entering DPMS SUSPEND with the nouveau driver. I gave up on 10.04.4 and installed Linux Mint 14 with Mate. Here's the Xorg.0.log file
    http://pastebin.com/sA8wCdp3

    I have no xorg.conf file.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aotearoha
    Beans
    2,692
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Nvidia 6200 - Olevia 26" TV - DPMS Suspend

    Minor points:
    - post #22 the cmd lines have to go after the xserver has started..maybe that's where it when wrong.
    - the posted Xorg.0.log is clipped; end is missing
    - "0" & "FALSE" & "false" & "False" are equivalent in xorg.conf
    - is possible the old /etc/xorg.conf.d/ folder contents is ignored.


    xrandr is an Xorg tool & uses VGA-0 VGA-1 LVDS etc namespace.
    nouveau uses this namespace.

    nVidia driver uses CRT-0 CRT-1 DFP-0 etc namespace.
    rrandr uses nVidia namespace.
    (the PCI address nameapace is also inconsistent).
    So can not use VGA-1 in xorg.conf with nVidia X server driver.

    Because the log is clipped, can't tell what modeline was chosen..
    But looks like 1360x768@60

    Could try adding this somewhere..
    xrandr --output CRT-1 --mode 1280x1024 --rate 60.0

    At what point in the boot/greeter/login proces does screen go into suspend?
    (with nouveau driver)..
    Last edited by BicyclerBoy; December 8th, 2012 at 08:03 PM.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee,WI
    Beans
    6,280
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Nvidia 6200 - Olevia 26" TV - DPMS Suspend

    Quote Originally Posted by BicyclerBoy View Post
    Minor points:
    - post #22 the cmd lines have to go after the xserver has started..maybe that's where it when wrong.
    - the posted Xorg.0.log is clipped; end is missing
    - "0" & "FALSE" & "false" & "False" are equivalent in xorg.conf
    - is possible the old /etc/xorg.conf.d/ folder contents is ignored.


    xrandr is an Xorg tool & uses VGA-0 VGA-1 LVDS etc namespace.
    nouveau uses this namespace.

    nVidia driver uses CRT-0 CRT-1 DFP-0 etc namespace.
    rrandr uses nVidia namespace.
    (the PCI address nameapace is also inconsistent).
    So can not use VGA-1 in xorg.conf with nVidia X server driver.

    Because the log is clipped, can't tell what modeline was chosen..
    But looks like 1360x768@60

    Could try adding this somewhere..
    xrandr --output CRT-1 --mode 1280x1024 --rate 60.0

    At what point in the boot/greeter/login proces does screen go into suspend?
    (with nouveau driver)..
    it goes into DPMS SUSPEND at completely random times. With Mint 14 w/ Mate I can boot up open Google chrome, a terminal and be working and then out of no where it goes into DPMS SUSPEND. After logging in I have issued xet -dpms and checked xset -q and it states DPMS is disabled, doesn't matter, still goes into DPMS SUSPEND mode. The nouveau driver is not really working anyway because kdenlive is completely garbled and I can't see what I am doing. So the nvidia binaries go straight into DPMS SUSPEND where at least nouveau allows me to work for a tiny bit. Here's a newer Xorg.0.log file, i don't know why it's cutting it off but that's the complete log file
    http://pastebin.com/aTqmTA7G
    Here's a screenshot I took while it was still working




    Here's a youtube video showing the problem.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LL8cBPqQE34
    Last edited by dannyboy79; December 8th, 2012 at 08:45 PM.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aotearoha
    Beans
    2,692
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Nvidia 6200 - Olevia 26" TV - DPMS Suspend

    The screen corruption & the random nature of the "suspend" (heat/time?) starts to suggest h/w problems with GPU packaging or memory failing.

    The nVidia FX5200 era was plagued with dodgy SMT assembly.
    nVidia settled out-of-court with Apple.

    The best nVidia AGP card is the old 1st gen 8400 or..an old PCI card..

  9. #39
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee,WI
    Beans
    6,280
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Nvidia 6200 - Olevia 26" TV - DPMS Suspend

    wouldn't there be something in any log file about a GPU lockup or something if it were related to heat?

    I just got the GeForce 8400 GS PCIe card so I am about to find out if it'll work with this old Asrock 775Dual-VSTA motherboard.


    UPDATE: i installed the 8400 GS within the 1 PCIe slot which runs @4x, set the bios to video card being PCIe and disabled PCIE Downstream Pipeline and PCIE VC1 Request Queue within the BIOS per what I read on a lot of forums regarding these "DUAL" Asrock motherboards. I can report that everything is working great! I am running at 1440x900 using the Nvidia 304.51 version from Mint's repos. I wonder if I should push it and install the latest 310.19 version from the website, IF it will give me greater video game frames per second it may be worth a shot. There's a whole mess of changes in the release highlights for that driver. I'll post back if I do that but for now I get direct rendering
    glxinfo | grep direct
    direct rendering: Yes
    GL_EXT_Cg_shader, GL_EXT_depth_bounds_test, GL_EXT_direct_state_access,

    and glxgears shows:
    302 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.306 FPS
    300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.885 FPS
    300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.885 FPS
    300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.885 FPS
    Last edited by dannyboy79; December 9th, 2012 at 01:58 AM. Reason: installed new video card

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Aotearoha
    Beans
    2,692
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Nvidia 6200 - Olevia 26" TV - DPMS Suspend

    I'm not sure fatal memory errors in GPU would show up in normal logs.
    My guess is there would need to be a special GPU memory test.

    Sorry, I thought you only had an AGP slot mobo..
    I still use a core2duo LGA775 mobo for HTPC.
    An iCPU would use half the power & have much more transcoding grunt tho.

    See if you have VDPAU working in MythTV or mplayer..

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •