Thread: Shell Script to copy to Server

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Question Shell Script to copy to Server

Ok, the more I research this, the harder it seems.

Here is all I want

A shell script that moves all the contents of a local folder, to my server...

I have a samba share, and open-ssh set up on the server..

I would like this script to be automatic and require no user input..

I feel like this should be easy, but the more I look, the more complex it becomes..

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Shell Script to copy to Server

As long as you haven't disabled it in the SSH config on the server, SSH also supports "SFTP", which is basically just FTP over SSH. If you set up a particular SFTP folder to be automounted to an easy to find folder, you could just script the copy of files to the folder that the server is mounted on.
    "Civilization is the limitless multiplication of unnecessary necessities."
    -- Mark Twain

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Smile Re: Shell Script to copy to Server

Thanks for the response,

I use SFTP to access my server from work.

any tips on auto mounting in Kubuntu 12.04? Never done it before..

Would I just use the cp command?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

What OS are you running on each? I assume one is windows since you are using samba. If both happen to be linux you solution is simple - an rsync job scheduled by cron. If one is windows then sftp may be your best answer. Again, I would see about setting up a cron job. If you need more details, give us some specifics.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu

Smile Re: Shell Script to copy to Server

@Ag,

I like the way you roll, I have been meaning to learn cron for some time...

Here are my specs..

Local:
    LinuxMint 13 Maya

Server:
    Ubuntu 10.10

Here is a little more detailed explanation of what I would like to accomplish..