Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Asus K55VD (A55VD) FN + F5 F6 Brightness dont working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    69
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Asus K55VD (A55VD) FN + F5 F6 Brightness dont working

    Hi I have just installed Ubuntu 12.10 in Asus K55VD (A55VD-SX406H) I7-3630M, RAM 8GB, nvidia GEFORCE 610M 2GB. I have installed bumblebee nvdidia drivers. But the brightness keys (FN F5,F6) are not working.

    Any idea?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    69
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Asus K55VD (A55VD) FN + F5 F6 Brightness dont working

    I am one step closer to the fix. I have tried acpi_osi= in boot options and now I can adjust the brightness with the fn keys but without Ubuntu notification. The sound adjustment works nice with notifications. Is there a way to fix that?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Russia
    Beans
    3
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Asus K55VD (A55VD) FN + F5 F6 Brightness dont working

    Hello!
    I've got the same laptop and hot keys for brightness don't work too (I'm using Xubuntu 12.10 64-bit). Could you please tell me what did you mean?
    Quote Originally Posted by khaos1 View Post
    I have tried acpi_osi= in boot options
    I've tried this:
    1. sudo gedit /etc/default/grub
    2. find the line starting with GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT
    3. add "acpi_osi=Linux acpi_backlight=vendor" to the options
    4. sudo update-grub2
    5. reboot
    But no luck.
    What did you do to make Fn+F5 and Fn+F6 work?
    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    69
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Asus K55VD (A55VD) FN + F5 F6 Brightness dont working

    Quote Originally Posted by timroll View Post
    Hello!
    I've got the same laptop and hot keys for brightness don't work too (I'm using Xubuntu 12.10 64-bit). Could you please tell me what did you mean?


    I've tried this:

    But no luck.
    What did you do to make Fn+F5 and Fn+F6 work?
    Thanks.
    1. sudo gedit /etc/default/grub
    2. find the line starting with GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT
    3. add "acpi_osi=" to the options
    4. sudo update-grub2
    5. reboot


    Hope that it will fix. Please reply here if that fixed for you and if you get ubuntu notification for this

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Russia
    Beans
    3
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Asus K55VD (A55VD) FN + F5 F6 Brightness dont working

    Thanks a lot for your advice, khaos1!
    Yesterday I tried to do as you told me. And voila - now I can adjust brightness with hot keys. But - just like you, I can't see any notifications from *buntu. Though it doesn't really bother me.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    69
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Asus K55VD (A55VD) FN + F5 F6 Brightness dont working

    Quote Originally Posted by timroll View Post
    Thanks a lot for your advice, khaos1!
    Yesterday I tried to do as you told me. And voila - now I can adjust brightness with hot keys. But - just like you, I can't see any notifications from *buntu. Though it doesn't really bother me.
    Very nice to hear that is partial fixed.

    I have opened a launchpad bug report. Timroll please add your info to the bug:

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...x/+bug/1100825

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    17

    Re: Asus K55VD (A55VD) FN + F5 F6 Brightness dont working

    Quote Originally Posted by khaos1 View Post
    Very nice to hear that is partial fixed.

    I have opened a launchpad bug report. Timroll please add your info to the bug:

    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...x/+bug/1100825
    Hi! Thanks for the tip, it also worked here but with this change I have a little bug here, after reboot the browser chromium starts with a very small size and cannot be maximized (just on first open) , it stay like that, i have to close it and open again then it restore to normal size.

    like that: https://www.dropbox.com/s/v0dy33kc1f54slt/screen.png

    Do you or someone have an idea what could be that?

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Beans
    69
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Asus K55VD (A55VD) FN + F5 F6 Brightness dont working

    Quote Originally Posted by rafaelhsn View Post
    Hi! Thanks for the tip, it also worked here but with this change I have a little bug here, after reboot the browser chromium starts with a very small size and cannot be maximized (just on first open) , it stay like that, i have to close it and open again then it restore to normal size.

    like that: https://www.dropbox.com/s/v0dy33kc1f54slt/screen.png

    Do you or someone have an idea what could be that?

    Thanks!
    If you remove the boot setting then the chrome is ok? Very weird problem. If you can submit that you have the bug too in the launchpad page:

    Please make a comment in the bug and describe your situation.
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...x/+bug/1100825
    Last edited by khaos1; January 25th, 2013 at 01:24 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Beans
    17

    Re: Asus K55VD (A55VD) FN + F5 F6 Brightness dont working

    Quote Originally Posted by khaos1 View Post
    If you remove the boot setting then the chrome is ok? Very weird problem. If you can submit that you have the bug too in the launchpad page:

    Please make a comment in the bug and describe your situation.
    https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...x/+bug/1100825
    Hi

    I Just fixed it using the command -start-maximized on shortcut =)

    Thaks a lot for your help!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Beans
    1

    Re: Asus K55VD (A55VD) FN + F5 F6 Brightness dont working

    Hi,

    I have the same problem using Ubuntu 13.04 (gnome version), also with an Asus KV55VD.

    The only satisfying workaround is using "acpi_osi=".

    Strangely, an other workaround i have found almost works:

    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/As...e#Ubuntu_13.04
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="splash quiet acpi_osi='!Windows 2012'"
    Ubuntu notification works, hotkeys almost works but every press requires a few seconds to be detected or applied by the system.
    This is not usable with in this case Ubuntu notification works...

    Added this comment to the launchpad bug.

    Thanks for this cool workaround, i was searching for it for many hours!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •