Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 40

Thread: umount from adb

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Squidbilly-Land
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: umount command

    Well, adb probably automatically mounts your android devices when you connect - though I don't know. I've only used adb from a Windows PC.

    Why not just shutdown the android device and unplug it from the PC?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: umount command

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFu View Post
    Well, adb probably automatically mounts your android devices when you connect - though I don't know. I've only used adb from a Windows PC.

    Why not just shutdown the android device and unplug it from the PC?
    Because on the device end there was always an emphatic message to make sure I've unmounted from the pc before I turn off adb. Lacking any better recommendations turning the device off is what I ended up doing. On boot it seems no damage was done because I have a folder in my sdcard named LOST.DIR. It usually fills up with corrupted files and it's still empty.

    Thanks for your input.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: umount command

    I will hazard a guess that simply turning off the device does not properly unmount it. I just tried to flash the zip that I had pushed from my computer and it failed. The log said that the file was empty. What I have researched is that this happens when devices aren't properly unmounted. Cheap lesson because I still have the file on my pc so can push it again. Before that I've got to make sure I know the procedure to properly unmount.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    14,193
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: umount from adb

    Don't know what could possibly be going on, but, try this; See if it gives us any hint.
    When you next use the adb device and get the "busy" indicator. run this:
    --
    As a better way is to learn which process uses the device:

    # umount /dev/sdb1 <where sdb1 is the adb device's name>
    Code:
    umount: /dev/sdb1
    : device is busy
    Code:
    fuser -m /dev/sdb1
    /dev/sdb1: 3322 --this is the example output--
    (3322 is id of the process that uses the device. in order to find out what it is, do this:
    Code:
     ps aux | grep 3322
    Code:
    kill -9 3322
    Code:
    umount /dev/sdb1
    #

    that should work..
    puzzle'n it out ==> BDQ

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: umount from adb

    Quote Originally Posted by Bashing-om View Post
    Don't know what could possibly be going on, but, try this; See if it gives us any hint.
    When you next use the adb device and get the "busy" indicator. run this:
    --
    As a better way is to learn which process uses the device:

    # umount /dev/sdb1 <where sdb1 is the adb device's name>
    Code:
    umount: /dev/sdb1
    : device is busy
    Code:
    fuser -m /dev/sdb1
    /dev/sdb1: 3322 --this is the example output--
    (3322 is id of the process that uses the device. in order to find out what it is, do this:
    Code:
     ps aux | grep 3322
    Code:
    kill -9 3322
    Code:
    umount /dev/sdb1
    #

    that should work..
    puzzle'n it out ==> BDQ
    This is what I get inside the adb shell
    Code:
    root@android:/ # umount /sdcard/
    failed: Device or resource busy
    1|root@android:/ # umount /dev/sdg
    failed: No such file or directory
    When the device was viewable from nautilus and gparted it was assigned sdg and sdh for the sdcard and emmc storage.

    I read about just running the command mount for the bash prompt so I thought I might try it from the adb shell thinking that it might show me what is "busy"
    Code:
    1|root@android:/ # mount          
    rootfs / rootfs ro,relatime 0 0
    tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,nosuid,relatime,mode=755 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,mode=600 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
    none /acct cgroup rw,relatime,cpuacct 0 0
    tmpfs /mnt/asec tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
    tmpfs /mnt/obb tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
    none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,relatime,cpu 0 0
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /rom vfat rw,noatime,nodiratime,uid=1000,gid=1000,fmask=0117,dmask=0007,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p5 /system ext4 ro,relatime,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered 0 0
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p6 /data ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered,noauto_da_alloc 0 0
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p7 /cache ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,noatime,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered 0 0
    /sys/kernel/debug /sys/kernel/debug debugfs rw,relatime 0 0
    /dev/block/vold/179:49 /storage/sdcard1 vfat ro,dirsync,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    /dev/block/vold/179:49 /mnt/secure/asec vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    tmpfs /storage/sdcard1/.android_secure tmpfs ro,relatime,size=0k,mode=000 0 0
    /dev/block/vold/179:8 /storage/sdcard0 vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    Means next to nothing to me. You?

    Like I said in the OP of this morning, I was successful in pushing the zip to my sdcard. However, when I went to flash it the operation failed because "zip file is empty". I read this morning that this is the result of improper umount ing.

    Thanks for your input.
    Last edited by unibroker; November 30th, 2012 at 12:16 AM. Reason: new info

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Beans
    13,573
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: umount from adb

    Merged.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    14,193
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: umount from adb

    Well, the output is a new one on me, I also do not understand what it is telling us.
    Let's approach from another direction:
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    <lower case "L">
    with the android device connected.

    That will tell us how ubuntu sees the device to get the device identifier for the fuser command sequence.

    poke'n and alook'n <== BDQ

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: umount from adb

    Quote Originally Posted by Bashing-om View Post
    Well, the output is a new one on me, I also do not understand what it is telling us.
    Let's approach from another direction:
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    <lower case "L">
    with the android device connected.

    That will tell us how ubuntu sees the device to get the device identifier for the fuser command sequence.

    poke'n and alook'n <== BDQ
    Code:
    Disk /dev/sda: 250.1 GB, 250059350016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders, total 488397168 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xcab10bee
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sda1   *          63    81922047    40960992+   7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sda2       470270745   488392064     9060660    c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
    /dev/sda3        81924094   470269951   194172929    5  Extended
    /dev/sda5       459929600   470269951     5170176   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda6        81924096   105359359    11717632   83  Linux
    /dev/sda7       105361408   459923455   177281024   83  Linux
    
    Partition table entries are not in disk order
    
    Disk /dev/sdf: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders, total 156301488 sectors
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
    Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x3c8b9b3d
    
       Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
    /dev/sdf1           16126    43943935    21963905    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
    /dev/sdf2        43943936   156301311    56178688   83  Linux
    /dev/sdf5           16128    39752781    19868327    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
    /dev/sdf6        39753728    43943935     2095104   82  Linux swap / Solaris
    This is what is so mystifying (to me); the device doesn't appear. I assume that is why I can't "Safely Unmount" from Nautilus anymore. However it does appear when I
    Code:
    $ lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 058f:6362 Alcor Micro Corp. Flash Card Reader/Writer
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 03f0:110c Hewlett-Packard 
    Bus 003 Device 002: ID 046d:c52b Logitech, Inc. Unifying Receiver
    Bus 001 Device 004: ID 18d1:2d03 Google Inc.
    The device is Google Inc.

    From adb shell
    Code:
    root@android:/ # lsusb
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002
    I have tried using vendor ID with umount but with no success.
    Last edited by unibroker; November 30th, 2012 at 01:15 AM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    14,193
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: umount from adb

    what to me is really strange; Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:002 --you identify as "google"
    whereas lsusb -> Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub --
    I gonna do some rooting around later and see what I can find as to how android is attatched to the file system.


    scratch'n and look'n ==> BDQ

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    ozarks, Arkansas, USA
    Beans
    14,193
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

    Re: umount from adb

    oh unibroker, The world of adb is so confusing to me !
    From what I can gather the identifier "sdcard" is valid from ubuntu's perspective; but do not know what you will have to set up in adb's world to relate with ubuntu;
    "andriod tools" package (adb and fastboot) installed on the andriod device ?
    Are the rules set up properly on the adb ?
    see this link for some insight or guidance:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1918512

    I know nothing, and for that reason I can not help you, But I will continue to follow this thread to further my knowledge -> this ole man may need it in the world that is coming !

    just plain out of date ==> BDQ

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •