Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Black Bars Around Edge of Monitor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    96

    Black Bars Around Edge of Monitor

    Hello all,
    I have an Acer H233H monitor connected to my Radeon HD 6670 graphics card and had black bars around the edges at 1920x1080. I fixed this by increasing the overscan, but the problem reappears every boot-up and I have to lower the overscan then raise it again to fix it. Any suggestions as to how I might make this problem go away completely? So far I've tried increasing the refresh rate to the appropriate 75 Hz, but Catalyst won't let me, and overriding with xorg.conf does nothing.
    </any ideas of what to use as a signature>

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    96

    Re: Black Bars Around Edge of Monitor

    bump?
    </any ideas of what to use as a signature>

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Elgin, IL USA
    Beans
    2,526
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Black Bars Around Edge of Monitor

    You probably have to run Catalyst as root (using gksu) to make permanent changes. I don't have ATI video on this computer, so not sure of Catalyst program name (maybe amdcccle?).
    i5 650 3.2 GHz, 8 GB, nvidia GTX 550 Ti 32" 1080p | i7-4700, 8 GB, Intel HD 4600/nvidia GTX 765M 15.6" 1080p | etc.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    The Left Coast of the USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

    Re: Black Bars Around Edge of Monitor

    Code:
    gksudo amdcccle
    it is possible you may need to use the fully qualified path if you have installed using a method other than the repo, maybe something like

    Code:
    gksudo /usr/lib/fglrx/bin/amdcccle

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    96

    Re: Black Bars Around Edge of Monitor

    I do run Catalyst as root with "gksudo amdcccle"; I had to use that to configure my second monitor and make the fix in the first place. The fix stays according to the little overscan slider, but I have to turn it down then up again to fix it again every reboot. Would running the full path make a difference if it already works from just typing "gksudo amdcccle"? Also, a quick update: Everything seems to be OK for this reboot-which is odd since that hasn't really worked in a few months. I think it may have something to do with me interrupting the booting process with a hard restart midway through. I rebooted again to see if it would stay, and it did, but I'm not sure how long it will last.
    </any ideas of what to use as a signature>

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Beans
    96

    Re: Black Bars Around Edge of Monitor

    OK after a couple days, it looks like the fix is stable . Despite the fact that hard rebooting in general is a bad idea-let alone during reboot-it seems to have done the trick.
    </any ideas of what to use as a signature>

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •