Thread: Vbox guest additions problem

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.10 Yakkety Yak

Vbox guest additions problem

Host: 64-bit Ubuntu 12.04 i5 650 3.2 GHz 8 GB
    VBox: 4.2.4 r81684

I am new to VirtualBox, originally for a real basic Debian guest, starting with base system with no gui to adding lxde, etc. to become familiar with how to operate Raspian on a backordered Raspberry Pi ($35US 512 MB ARM computer on credit card size board). Removing the default older guest additions and adding 4.2.4 version was no problem (apparently kernal headers and source installed by default). The only problem was that I also had to install another Debian guest with its default gui to figure out how to get alsa audio working on the basic system (works now).

But I also decided to try 64-bit Ubuntu 12.10 guest. I found the mouse flaky on the virtual live/install iso (often flashing to edge of window when cursor was in middle) and no scroll wheel function. Mouse was better, but still no scroll wheel on installed guest (had not noticed that guest additions did not compile first attempt).

After I installed linux-headers-generic it still complains, but apparently does compile guest additions because now mouse cursor is stable with 3D video and scroll wheel works in 12.10 guest.

Code:
    efflandt@U1210-VBox:/media/efflandt/VBOXADDITIONS_4.2.4_81684$ sudo sh ./VBoxLinuxAdditions.run
    Verifying archive integrity... All good.
    Uncompressing VirtualBox 4.2.4 Guest Additions for Linux..........
    VirtualBox Guest Additions installer
    Removing installed version 4.2.4 of VirtualBox Guest Additions...
    Removing existing VirtualBox non-DKMS kernel modules ...done.
    Building the VirtualBox Guest Additions kernel modules
    The headers for the current running kernel were not found. If the following
    module compilation fails then this could be the reason.

Building the main Guest Additions module ...done.
    Building the shared folder support module ...done.