Page 4 of 33 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 327

Thread: Netflix On Ubuntu

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Vermont
    Beans
    853
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Netflix On Ubuntu

    By the way, should I uninstall Crossover before I try installing this patched version of Wine? Any thoughts?
    Linux: You reap what you tweak.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indiana
    Beans
    1,933
    Distro
    Hardy Heron (Ubuntu Development)

    Re: Netflix On Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by sdowney717 View Post
    Just tried this following the compile and all and it cant find the silverlight plugin = fail.
    Just read the comment section as many say the same thing
    Firefox works ok.
    Firefox has always worked with Wine without any hacks. Double fail.
    Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You. - Dr. Seuss

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Indiana, United States
    Beans
    734

    Re: Netflix On Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by VTPoet View Post
    Apple does it all the time. Apple would do it every day if they had to. So why wouldn't Microsoft?
    well first off netflix would have to switch the version of silverlight that works with it as well as pissing off all the people who don't know anything about computers when netflix stops working for no apparent reason. how much control does microsoft have over netflix anyway? they are still independent companies right?
    Whoever came up with the phrase "There is no such thing as a stupid question" obviously never had the internet.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Netflix On Ubuntu

    Netflix works perfectly on android, which is linux.
    I wonder if I could just load up android x86 in virtualbox or a dev version, with a netflix app... and use it that way

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    London
    Beans
    481
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Netflix On Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by mamamia88 View Post
    and why would they bother with that?
    I don't think they will, not any faster than old versions would naturally become obsolete anyway. All I'm saying is that they could do it, if they wanted to.

    Quote Originally Posted by Lightstar
    Netflix works perfectly on android, which is linux.
    I wonder if I could just load up android x86 in virtualbox or a dev version, with a netflix app... and use it that way
    It's been tried, it doesn't work.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Pizza Hut
    Beans
    1,211
    Distro
    Kubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Netflix On Ubuntu

    Added a small update to the first post.
    Ubuntu user #35115 - Linux user #555707 - My Ubuntu Wik page
    Join the Ubuntu Forums' IRC room (#ubuntuforums on irc.freenode.net)!

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Netflix On Ubuntu

    I have found the PPA and it was updated 26 minutes ago with the netflix-desktop packages but they are still building.

    https://launchpad.net/~ehoover/+arch...olio/+packages

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Netflix On Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by lovinglinux View Post
    I have found the PPA and it was updated 26 minutes ago with the netflix-desktop packages but they are still building.

    https://launchpad.net/~ehoover/+arch...olio/+packages
    The 32bit packages were built. The necessary packages are netflix-desktop and wine-compholio. I haven't tested yet.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Netflix On Ubuntu

    how do you add this ppa to the system?

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Michigan
    Beans
    83

    Re: Netflix On Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by sdowney717 View Post
    how do you add this ppa to the system?
    Code:
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:compholio
    At least, once it's fully baked. Right now it's throwing up a 404, which I am guessing means, "I'm not quite ready yet."
    Code:
    sudo apt-get clue

Page 4 of 33 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •