Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Lamp installation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Beans
    4

    Lamp installation

    Hi,
    IM installing LAMP server on a Ubuntu server. Im following the instrutions from http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...12.04-lts-lamp. The apache2 install seems ok. I get the IT WORKS webpage in the localhost. I then installed php5 using the command and then created the info,php file in /var/www directory. But when i go to localhost/info.php i get a message saying what should FF do with this file (gedit default). Absolute beginner!!!! Dont know what to do.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    187

    Re: Lamp insallation

    Quote Originally Posted by horgag View Post
    Hi,
    IM installing LAMP server on a Ubuntu server. Im following the instrutions from http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...12.04-lts-lamp. The apache2 install seems ok. I get the IT WORKS webpage in the localhost. I then installed php5 using the command and then created the info,php file in /var/www directory. But when i go to localhost/info.php i get a message saying what should FF do with this file (gedit default). Absolute beginner!!!! Dont know what to do.
    If you were following that guide then most probably you skipped the apache2 restart.
    Do it
    Code:
    sudo service apache2 restart

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    7,543
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    mod_php

    Also, is mod_php active?

    Code:
    sudo a2enmod php5

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    187

    Re: mod_php

    Quote Originally Posted by Lars Noodén View Post
    Also, is mod_php active?

    Code:
    sudo a2enmod php5
    I have noticed that when libapache2-mod-php5 is installed via apt-get, it gets enabled by default.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Reykjavík, Ísland
    Beans
    9,674
    Distro
    Lubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Lamp insallation

    In case someone else reads this thread, I would recommend installing with the commands

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install tasksel
    sudo tasksel install lamp-server
    rather than the link in first post.
    About problems due to upgrading
    Bringing old hardware back to life.
    Please visit Quick Links -> Unanswered Posts

  6. #6
    monkeybrain2012 is offline Grande Half-n-Half Cinnamon Ubuntu
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    874

    Re: Lamp insallation

    Quote Originally Posted by mörgæs View Post
    In case someone else reads this thread, I would recommend installing with the commands

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install tasksel
    sudo tasksel install lamp-server
    rather than the link in first post.
    I would not recommend tasksel, it killed my system last time. I install via apt-get and all is fine. The link is ok but I am not sure why he su to root instead just using sudo.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Lamp insallation

    Quote Originally Posted by monkeybrain2012 View Post
    I would not recommend tasksel, it killed my system last time. I install via apt-get and all is fine. The link is ok but I am not sure why he su to root instead just using sudo.
    Thanks for the response, that problem has been solved. The only thing left is icant log into phpmyadmin. I can log into mysql through the terminal. Any ideas!!!?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Lamp installation

    Quote Originally Posted by monkeybrain2012 View Post
    I would not recommend tasksel, it killed my system last time. I install via apt-get and all is fine. The link is ok but I am not sure why he su to root instead just using sudo.
    Old guide is old. My bet is they didn't want to keep using sudo.

    In any case, tasksel is fine as long as you don't uncheck anything. I've used it to install many boxes and haven't run into any problems with it.

    Quote Originally Posted by horgag View Post
    Thanks for the response, that problem has been solved. The only thing left is icant log into phpmyadmin. I can log into mysql through the terminal. Any ideas!!!?
    It should use the same password that you use for mysql.
    Come to #ubuntuforums! We have cookies! | Basic Ubuntu Security Guide

    Tomorrow's an illusion and yesterday's a dream, today is a solution...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Beans
    4

    Re: Lamp installation

    Quote Originally Posted by CharlesA View Post
    Old guide is old. My bet is they didn't want to keep using sudo.

    In any case, tasksel is fine as long as you don't uncheck anything. I've used it to install many boxes and haven't run into any problems with it.



    It should use the same password that you use for mysql.
    i am using the same password as mysql but nothing seems to happen on the phpmyadmin loginpage....it just continually trying to connect..no error.
    cheers

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    187

    Re: Lamp installation

    Quote Originally Posted by horgag View Post
    i am using the same password as mysql but nothing seems to happen on the phpmyadmin loginpage....it just continually trying to connect..no error.
    cheers
    My guess is that you didn't select MySQL as the database to be used with phpmyadmin during the installation of phpmyadmin. During its installation it appears that it is selected by default however it is not and you have to press spacebar to actually select it. Did you do that? If not then that is the problem.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •