Thread: where is the atl.ko file ?

Hybrid View

Beans

where is the atl.ko file ?

I've an Asus P5GC-MX/1333 motherboard with 32bit Intel Core 2 duo. Atheros L2 & Realtek drivers are not working. I had downloaded attansicl2.tgz file & tried to move that file to /lib/modules/3.5.0-17-generic/kernel/drivers/net/atl.ko, however I found no atl.ko files in that directory. Please help. I am completely new to any linux OS

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: where is the atl.ko file ?

Quote Originally Posted by Rudra G View Post
    I've an Asus P5GC-MX/1333 motherboard with 32bit Intel Core 2 duo. Atheros L2 & Realtek drivers are not working. I had downloaded attansicl2.tgz file & tried to move that file to /lib/modules/3.5.0-17-generic/kernel/drivers/net/atl.ko, however I found no atl.ko files in that directory. Please help. I am completely new to any linux OS
    Hi,

I think you need to first extract the file to a proper location and then you have to move the file. Say you extracted the tgz in a folder say sampleFolder inside your home directory. Note that the atl.ko is the file and not a directory.

Then, do the following code
    Code:
    sudo cp ~/sampleFolder/atl.ko /lib/modules/3.5.0-17-generic/kernel/drivers/net/
    Now to see the contents of the folder
    Code:
    ls /lib/modules/3.5.0-17-generic/kernel/drivers/net/

Regards,
    Abhinav

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

However, you won't have an atl.ko in that directory until you compile the package for your running kernel. If you can provide us with some details, we will be glad to help. Open a terminal and run and post:
    Code:
    lspci -nn | grep 0200
    lsb_release -d
    Can you give us a link to the file you downloaded? Maybe there is a newer file or a better way.
    "Oh, Ubuntu, you are my favorite Linux-based operating system" --Dr. Sheldon Cooper, B.Sc., M.Sc., M.A., Ph.D., Sc.D.

Beans