Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: GNOME panel

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ice cold Norway
    Beans
    517

    Lightbulb GNOME panel

    Hey, just got an idea, someone's probably thought of this earlier, but I'd like to see GNOME use the screen more wisely.

    On widescreen running fullscreen apps there's a lot of space that gets tossed away having the panel, the application window title, and the application menu on top of each other. If you look horizontally there's a lot of available space.

    Why not collapse the window title to the application icon already visible on GNOME panel? It's a clicker now, so just add window options for un-maximize, minimize etc. Then hide the GNOME clock again on GNOME panel, and put the application menu there, from the application icon and across the screen towards the notification area.

    This way you save almost 50 px on the height.

    Or should I just get cracking and get xmonad running again?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Beans
    881
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME panel

    Oh you mean like how Documents, Epiphany, etc. handles full-screen windows?

    http://imgur.com/9kY6r
    Last edited by jbicha; November 9th, 2012 at 01:49 AM. Reason: link to img

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Just call me JF
    Beans
    1,052
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME panel

    IIRC there's also the Maximus extension.
    1) Dell Studio 1749: i5 540 (2.5GHz), 8GB, ATi 5650, Intel 5300AGN XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    2) Lenovo X61: C2D T7200, 2GB, Intel HDA, iwlwifi, XFCE@Manjaro-x64
    3) Compaq Mini 311c: Atom N270 (OC@2.0GHz), 3GB, Nvidia ION, Broadcom G+BT XFCE@13.10x32

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Beans
    242
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: GNOME panel

    On netbook, unity is much better with screen space...can i have window dogde unity launcher behaviour back on ubuRR?
    Last edited by serdotlinecho; November 9th, 2012 at 02:33 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ice cold Norway
    Beans
    517

    Re: GNOME panel

    Yes, something like maximus -- good find, I'll try it -- but also take the application menu and move it to GNOME panel next to Terminal icon, if you look at the screenshot in the link. I don't know how easy it is to fix this, but like serdotlinecho says, Unity sort of does this.

    The maximus extension is pretty sweet. I also installed window options. Good stuff!
    Last edited by graabein; November 10th, 2012 at 01:17 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    West Palm Beach,FL,USA
    Beans
    361
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: GNOME panel

    Quote Originally Posted by graabein View Post
    Hey, just got an idea, someone's probably thought of this earlier
    i also have an idea for 13.04
    like graabein said,maybe some one thought of this earlier but still it's a wish i have for Unity
    i like Unity but would like to see that when i click the Dash Home only to display all installed apps
    if you need to find something else use the Search Bar.i hate to be clicking on lenses and then expand the apps to find the app i am looking for and i don't want to type it on the search bar when i know where it is.this takes time away from you.
    these lenses are hateful for me,the search bar is great.
    Last edited by kuvanito; November 10th, 2012 at 03:39 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •