Thread: Recovering Ubuntu 10.04 w/ Lubuntu 12.04 Live CD

Beans

Lightbulb Recovering Ubuntu 10.04 w/ Lubuntu 12.04 Live CD [issue fixed, sorta]

AskUbuntu really hasn't been helpful with this at all, so I thought I'd try asking here.
    Question on AskUbuntu

Text of question:

My younger sister's computer suffered some major problems recently. The BIOS corrupted and attempted to load Ubuntu 10.04 in a way it shouldn't have. I'm not sure of the exact details, but the computer wouldn't start. Anyway, I put the drive in a new computer and attempted to recover it with a Lubuntu live CD. When I access her root folder on the mounted drive, it tells me I can't. What do I do? I'm not that experienced with Linux.

What's the specific error message? – ObsessiveSSOℲ 20 hours ago

Error opening directory '/media/lubuntu/string-of-numbers/home/user' Permission denied. – ndm13 20 hours ago

Any help would really be appreciated. Thank you so much.
    Last edited by ndm13; November 5th, 2012 at 02:30 AM. Reason: Solved, sorta.

Beans

Re: Recovering Ubuntu 10.04 w/ Lubuntu 12.04 Live CD

only thing i can offer here, is try
    Code:
    gksudo pcmanfm
    to open the lubuntu file manager with root permissions, and see if you can access the files.

maybe the drive is dying.

Edit:

i'm having a dopey moment, but shouldnt the path be /media/the drive(string of numbers)/home/user
    Last edited by black veils; November 4th, 2012 at 10:06 PM.

Beans

Re: Recovering Ubuntu 10.04 w/ Lubuntu 12.04 Live CD

Quote Originally Posted by black veils View Post
    only thing i can offer here, is try
    Code:
    gksudo pcmanfm
    to open the lubuntu file manager with root permissions, and see if you can access the files.

maybe the drive is dying.

Edit:

i'm having a dopey moment, but shouldnt the path be /media/the drive(string of numbers)/home/user
    Thank you for a prompt (relatively) response! Much better help here.