Thread: Little Project I'm Sharing

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Little Project I'm Sharing

I'm not a professional programmer. I have some basic knowledge of Python and Bash, and use them to occasionally write little tools that make my life easier, but aren't quite of a complexity to warrant a project page on Launchpad.

Hence I just created a Wiki page for myself where I'm going to try and collect a lot of the information I've thrown around the internet over the years that can be of use such walkthroughs, these scripts, etc.. I'm getting ready to go to bed, but I just used one of my tools and updated it to fix a mistake in some of the general information and thought I'd share it with you.

I call it CheckMD5, and I wrote it because at the time I couldn't find something that did just what I wanted it to do. There were tools that would calculate an MD5 and give it to you, but there was nothing (that I could find) that made it easy to just click through and do the comparison against an original for you instead of you going character by character to find out that the last two characters were the only ones different.

This is just a Bash script that uses Zenity to draw a GUI, so just copy and paste the code below into a text document and save it with a .sh extension and you're ready to roll. Hope somebody finds this useful.

Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    #CheckMD5 - This is a tool to compare the MD5 checksum of a given file against another file, or against a given original checksum.
    ############################################
    #     CheckMD5 - MD5 Verification Tool     #
    #            Marcus Dean Adams             #
    #        marcusdean.adams@gmail.com        #
    #         Updated 2 November 2012          #
    ############################################

#Retrieves location of file to be checked and generates an MD5 checksum.