Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Re: 12.10 hangs after splash screen (possible X-server problem ?)

Beans

Re: 12.10 hangs after splash screen (possible X-server problem ?)

I am new to ubuntu forums and have made my first post.
    Questions:

-What is the splash screen?

-My problem is that after Grub boots ubuntu 12.10, I am not presented with the user login screen. Instead I get a blank purple screen with no fields. I have to hold the power button in to power of my lappy and then i'll power on again, i might have to repeat this process a few times until I get the user login screen. Its about a 50% success rate?!?! seems weird?!?!
    Last edited by Bucky Ball; October 30th, 2012 at 08:36 AM. Reason: Post moved to own thread ...

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

@ kenpachiZaraki: Your post has been moved to its own thread and edited as it is not the same as the issue outlined in the thread you posted on. Please read all posts in a thread, or at least the first and last half dozen.

'Hijacking' other user's threads is not encouraged and creates confusion for both OP and those attempting to help.

Apart from the heads up, welcome to the forums and good luck with fixing your issue.

BB
    Last edited by Bucky Ball; October 30th, 2012 at 08:42 AM.

Beans

@ Bucky Ball: im pretty sure I have the same problem as my computer also hangs after the splash screen (aka ubuntu 12.10 screen before login field are layer on top. Thanks for being thought provoking but did u even read and understand my what I wrote?

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

1) The splash screen is the screen that 'splashes' up at boot.
    2a) Try hitting shift after the BIOS 'splash' screen (good example) and that may get you to a menu list.
    2b) Try hitting F6 when you are at that purple screen.