Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Remove "AMD testing use only" script

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Portland Oregon
    Beans
    100

    Thumbs down Remove "AMD testing use only" script

    How I really "PAY" for my AMD video card on Linux.

    If you are using the latest beta then you'll notice a "AMD test use only" watermark.

    This little bash script should fix that

    Run as root and you should be good

    As always, use at your own risk
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Remove "AMD testing use only" script

    i love u so much!!!!!!!!!!!! kkkkkkkkkk ty dude

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Remove "AMD testing use only" script

    works greak thanx

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Beans
    1

    Re: Remove "AMD testing use only" script

    Thanks!!
    It worked fine with Ubuntu 12.10 and driver AMD 12.11 beta

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    7

    Re: Remove "AMD testing use only" script

    careful guys, probably my fault which did it, but this script totalled my install. all good now though got stuck on boot & rummaging round xorg, etc, resulted in nowt.

    **USE AT OWN RISK!***

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Beans
    9
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Remove "AMD testing use only" script

    Worked perfectly for me. Thanks!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Beans
    1

    Smile Re: Remove "AMD testing use only" script

    Worked fine on Ubuntu 12.10 x64 with 12.11 beta drivers. Thanks a lot!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Beans
    6

    Re: Remove "AMD testing use only" script

    Hi guys, I have switched from windows 8 (the HORROR!) to Ubuntu 12.10 today, I must say it rocks, but I am a total noob now, so Please explain how I can run this as root? I selected run as exe in properties but there is no option to run as root????

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Lubuntu Development Release

    Re: Remove "AMD testing use only" script

    Quote Originally Posted by lukebolger View Post
    Hi guys, I have switched from windows 8 (the HORROR!) to Ubuntu 12.10 today, I must say it rocks, but I am a total noob now, so Please explain how I can run this as root? I selected run as exe in properties but there is no option to run as root????
    Welcome! Great community here, I'm sure you'll love it. Here we're going to need a little shell (command-line) use, as this is a non-standard use case.

    First backup stuff. System-changing scripts can and do break. While linux breaks really nicely and informatively, it still breaks.

    Remember where you've downloaded the script to. I.e if it's in Downloads/remove_amd_message.sh, remember that.

    Open a terminal (Ctrl-Alt-T), it's a little purple box. Then type:

    Code:
    sudo Downloads/remove_amd_message.sh
    replacing the path with what you remembered.

    Enter your password when prompted (you can't see it, just type and press return), then you should be okay to go.

    For more information, check here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RootSudo

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Beans
    6

    Re: Remove "AMD testing use only" script

    Thanks for your reply man!

    I tried what you said, when it asks for the password, it doesn't let me type it! The keyboard works fine when typing in the command, but when the password is requested I cant type it!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •