Thread: Ubuntu 11.04+Canon LBP 2900 - installation issue

Beans

Ubuntu 11.04+Canon LBP 2900 - installation issue

Hi,

I'm new to ubuntu. Installation of Canon LBP 2900 seems to be not working on ubuntu. After going through various posts I've come to notice that this is a teething issue for many ubuntu users.

I've downloaded a driver raducotescuCanonCAPTDriverRelease 2.4-0- and installed the same. The installation was successful, the printer is recognized by the system. Print Jobs are being pushed to the queue. But nothing is getting printed. The readme file along with driver says it is installing CAPT v2.00 driver. But printer properties show that the capt driver version is 1.5

Please help..

Beans

Re: Ubuntu 11.04+Canon LBP 2900 - installation issue

I suggest you delete the printer drivers that you have installed with the radonescu script

If I offer the advice below:

Ubuntu make good help available

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/CanonCaptDrv190

the essence is

1) download and install the drivers

...........go here........

http://support-asia.canon-asia.com/c...900772424.html

to download the package that is CAPT Printer Driver for Linux Version 2.40

....the package comes down as Linux_CAPT_PrinterDriver_V240_uk_EN.tar.gz

I suggest to SAVE the file to your downloads directory; and then open the directory; when you click on the file it should offer to open with ARCHIVE MANAGER; let it;

go to the Debian folder; open 32bit or 64bit depending on which you have installed.....

....now the action............. install the drivers ......

.........first install the common driver (cndrvcups-common.deb)...........and then the capt driver (cndrvcups-capt.deb).....make sure you do it in that order

2) tell the system where to find the necessary bits:

which for you would be

Register the printer

sudo /usr/sbin/lpadmin -p LBP2900 -m CNCUPSLBP2900CAPTK.ppd -v ccp://localhost:59787 -E