Thread: simple script to tell if a user is logged in or not bash - need comments

Beans

Question simple script to tell if a user is logged in or not bash - need comments

I'm taking a a Linux class, I need to check if a user is logged in or not. If no argument is entered, it should ask for username...
    Program should exit 0 if user is logged on, and exit 1 if not.
    This is what I wrote and it is obviously working, but I also need to comment it out, and I am not sure I understand the function I wrote. I am new to programming...
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash

#define my function
    function checkuser
    {
    # for each variable in this command it will do
            for u in `who | cut -f1 -d" " | sort | uniq`
            do
    # this is where I thought $u will always be $1 since it is sent from input from user?
            if [ $u = $1 ] ; then
                    exit 0
            fi
            done
    }
    # if no argument was given ask for username.
    if [ -z $1 ] ; then
            echo "Enter username: "
            read u
    # sends input to function 
            checkuser $u
            exit 1
    fi
    checkuser $1
    exit 1

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: simple script to tell if a user is logged in or not bash - need comments

you should do something like this:
    Code:
    if [ -z $1 ]
    then
      read u
    else
      u=$1
    fi
    this way you can have only a single test (checkuser $u)

in your function change u to something else for clarity so you don't confuse outer and inner $u. Also you don't need to loop over the list of users and check them one by one in the first place. You can use grep in that pipe chain
    Code:
    who | cut -f1 -d" " | grep -qw $u
    and use its exit status as the exit status of your script

Code:
    $ echo me | grep -q me
    $ echo $?
    $ echo you | grep -q me
    $ echo $?
    Last edited by Vaphell; October 24th, 2012 at 11:57 PM.