Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: lm-sensor doesn't show me GPU temp

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    9

    [Solved][ubuntu]lm-sensor doesn't show me GPU temp

    Hello all,
    I have a little problem. I have a PC(ASUS EeePC 1215B with AMD C-60 and Radeon HD 6290) with Ubuntu 12.04 64bit.

    When i write on terminal
    Code:
    sudo sensor-detect
    the output is:
    Code:
    [sudo] password for matteo: 
    # sensors-detect revision 5984 (2011-07-10 21:22:53 +0200)
    # System: ASUSTeK Computer INC. 1215B (laptop)
    
    This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
    to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe
    and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,
    unless you know what you're doing.
    
    Some south bridges, CPUs or memory controllers contain embedded sensors.
    Do you want to scan for them? This is totally safe. (YES/no): YES
    Module cpuid loaded successfully.
    Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595...                       No
    VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors...                          No
    VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors...                            No
    AMD K8 thermal sensors...                                   No
    AMD Family 10h thermal sensors...                           No
    AMD Family 11h thermal sensors...                           No
    AMD Family 12h and 14h thermal sensors...                   Success!
        (driver `k10temp')
    AMD Family 15h thermal sensors...                           No
    AMD Family 15h power sensors...                             No
    Intel digital thermal sensor...                             No
    Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor...                         No
    VIA C7 thermal sensor...                                    No
    VIA Nano thermal sensor...                                  No
    
    Some Super I/O chips contain embedded sensors. We have to write to
    standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.
    Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no): YES
    Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f
    Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE'...               No
    Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
    Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               No
    Trying family `ITE'...                                      No
    Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f
    Trying family `National Semiconductor/ITE'...               No
    Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No
    Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Nuvoton/Fintek'...               No
    Trying family `ITE'...                                      No
    
    Some hardware monitoring chips are accessible through the ISA I/O ports.
    We have to write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually
    safe though. Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any
    ISA slots! Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (YES/no): YES
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM78' at 0x290...       No
    Probing for `National Semiconductor LM79' at 0x290...       No
    Probing for `Winbond W83781D' at 0x290...                   No
    Probing for `Winbond W83782D' at 0x290...                   No
    
    Lastly, we can probe the I2C/SMBus adapters for connected hardware
    monitoring devices. This is the most risky part, and while it works
    reasonably well on most systems, it has been reported to cause trouble
    on some systems.
    Do you want to probe the I2C/SMBus adapters now? (YES/no): YES
    Using driver `i2c-piix4' for device 0000:00:14.0: ATI Technologies Inc SB600/SB700/SB800 SMBus
    Module i2c-dev loaded successfully.
    
    Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
    Just press ENTER to continue: 
    
    Driver `k10temp' (autoloaded):
      * Chip `AMD Family 12h and 14h thermal sensors' (confidence: 9)
    
    No modules to load, skipping modules configuration.
    
    Unloading i2c-dev... OK
    Unloading cpuid... OK
    and when I write
    Code:
    sudo sensors
    terminal show me this:
    Code:
    sudo sensors
    k10temp-pci-00c3
    Adapter: PCI adapter
    temp1:        +55.9°C  (high = +70.0°C)
                           (crit = +100.0°C, hyst = +97.0°C)
    Now, why PC doesn't load GPU and CPU temp?
    Thank's a lot.
    Last edited by Normal01; October 26th, 2012 at 10:12 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Beans
    20

    Re: lm-sensor doesn't show me GPU temp

    You need to compile Psesnor yourself and to have the libatiadlxx on your system. I 've done it in the past but unfortunately I can't remember details right now. I am also at a PC with a nvidia cardright now so I can't test things..

    It worked though on my desktop with my 4870 and later 7770, didn't even have to change anything after swapping GPUs.


    EDIT:

    This is useful
    Last edited by PPN13; October 26th, 2012 at 02:22 PM. Reason: extra info

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: lm-sensor doesn't show me GPU temp

    From AskUbuntu I see you could try running;

    Code:
    aticonfig --odgt


    404

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Beans
    464
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.04 Xenial Xerus

    Re: lm-sensor doesn't show me GPU temp

    You don't need lm sensors to display gpu temps, all you need to do is install the proprietary catalyst on the system and acpi will show you the gpu temps, you can then use indicator-sensors from alex murray to display it right in your top panel. I have the same netbook but in smaller 10' display and this is how I monitor the GPU temp.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    9

    Re: lm-sensor doesn't show me GPU temp

    Thank's everybody.
    It's strange, because yesterday "Hardware Sensor Indicator" didn't show me the temp of GPU. I don't know why it happened.
    But now, "temp1" is the temp of CPU or the temp of motherboard?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: lm-sensor doesn't show me GPU temp

    From this it would seem it is the CPU - http://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/hwmon/k10temp


    404

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Beans
    9

    Re: lm-sensor doesn't show me GPU temp

    Thank you so much.
    If I understand right, "temp1" is a temp of CPU. Very good.
    Thank's a lot.
    Good night.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •