Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 12.10 won't connect to ethernet

Beans

12.10 won't connect to ethernet

Hey everyone, I'm fairly new to linux distributions and I dont know much about the whole linux OS. I've ran a few other distros (Mint, Fedora, Pear Os, and even previous versions of Ubuntu.) However after a fresh install of Ubuntu 12.10 I have absolutely no internet connection. Network settings won't even recognize that I have an ethernet cable plugged in. I've searched around the forums before posting to try and find the answer but none of the previous topics seem to be the same as mine. Ethernet works great with no problems on Windows 7. I'm also dual booting 12.10 and Windows 7 as I have a lot of music files, and I'd be a bit scared to completely leave Windows. I'm somewhat noobish when it comes to Ubuntu so if anyone has any suggestions it'd be appreciated!

Also I know everyone will most likely ask me to run a command to see all of my settings and what not, but what's the best way to copy those settings to this thread? I have no internet on ubuntu and I'd rather not have to type them all. Thanks
    Last edited by mcaz5; October 24th, 2012 at 02:33 PM.

Beans

Re: 12.10 won't connect to ethernet

I just tried setting up wired connection as static ip. That didn't work either, unless i didn't enter something right. Also in network settings, it shows my network as unplugged. On the router both lights are lit up suggesting its connected. I really really would like to use Ubuntu as my main OS but that won't be happening without Internet so any help would be extremely greatful.

Beans

Please can you show us the output of the following command in the terminal:

Code:
    sudo ifconfig
    You can get to the terminal by clicking on the lens in Unity and typing terminal. If you have any problems accessing the terminal see here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UsingTheTerminal

Beans

open a terminal and type

$> ifconfig

You should see a device "eth0".