Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I think...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 11.04 Natty Narwhal

I think...

Windows 8 might drive people to Linux. The metro desktop looks awful. It also looks very difficult and cumbersome to use.

I know I will never use it.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: I think...

Have an acquaintance that is an official beta tester for Microsoft. He took 8 OFF of his everyday personal computer and reverted to 7 .. that was two months ago and he has NOT put it back on even with the updates and patches. This might be another NT or Vista type experience.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 11.04 Natty Narwhal

I have no experience with NT. So, I will have to take your word for it,

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by ColeTurner View Post
    I have no experience with NT. So, I will have to take your word for it,
    NT wasn't so bad, it just wasn't really appropriate for common hardware when it first came out. Plus hardly anything ran on it. Trying to install Windows 3.1 software on Windows NT 3.51 was a horrendous experience that drove many people who needed Windows software to work but didn't like having to reboot from a crash every ten minutes to OS/2.

Things got better at NT 4.0 which looked and ran like an incredibly slow Windows 95. It at least ran most software for mainstream windows. Once Windows 2000 came out (NT 5.0 essentially) things were much better and I still believe it was one of their finest operating systems to date.

Windows 2000 got a fancy new window dressing that looked like a My First Windows child's playset which became Windows XP and the rest is miserable history.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Thread moved to Recurring Discussions.

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

I think retailers carrying win8 should offer free vouchersfor "windows 8 for dummies" atleast initially. God knows people are gonna need it.