Thread: Ubuntu boots to blank purple screen and won't respond.

Beans

Ubuntu boots to blank purple screen and won't respond.

I'm new to Ubuntu and I recently installed it on my PC. I logged in immediately after installing and it was working okay. I was told (in a beginners guide to Ubuntu) to update packages, so I opened the command line and typed "sudo apt-get update." Soon after, while I was messing around a bit, the screen froze (everything stopped responding, except for the mouse pointer). I force shut-down the computer, restarted, and tried to log on again. This time, before I even got to the login page, the computer displayed only a purple screen and wouldn't respond to anything. This happened two more times and I can't figure out how to fix it. Any suggestions?
    EDIT: I forgot to mention it's version 12.10.
    Last edited by jerdub93; October 22nd, 2012 at 09:24 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Ubuntu boots to blank purple screen and won't respond.

What is your hardware and graphics card, what graphics driver are you using? From your description it is not clear to me if the problem happens every time you boot or not.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

First of all, so that every new Ubuntu users knows, in 12.10 to simplest way to keep Ubuntu up to date is to go to the power menu and click About this computer. That will open the Details page of System Settings.

On the Details page you will see a panel that will say either:

a) System Up-To-Date
    b) Checking updates
    c) Install updates

or something like that.

Second, the command 'sudo apt-get update' does not update the OS. It does a comparison check between the computer and the repositories to identify which packages need to be updated.

For the update to take place we use the command 'sudo apt-get upgrade.' You do not say if you ran that command. Did you?

Thirdly, you say this:

Soon after, while I was messing around a bit,